Thread: C# books for a beginner - your opinion(s) please:

C# books for a beginner - your opinion(s) please:

Hello everybody,

I'm new to all things .NET and since I'm coming from Java I have decided to concentrate on C#. I would be grateful therefore if people could give their opinion / experiences of the following books.

1 - Visual C# 2005 How to Program (2nd Edition)

2 - Beginning Visual C# 2005

Is there any other books you'd recommend to a beginner to the language?

Thanks for your help.

Regards,

The Thing.
    Using: VB.net + C#.net 2005 Express Editions + .Net Framework 2.0

~ Man Is The Warmest Place To Hide ~

Re: C# books for a beginner - your opinion(s) please:

I've started learning C# just a few days ago.

I'm reading Programming C#, Fourth Edition (O'Reilly). This book mainly emphasizes on the language itself rather than Winform/IDE.

I find this book very helpfull. This book assumes you have some experience in programming C++/VB6/Java and have some concept of OOP.

It has special notes for VB6, Java and C++ developers. As I know all of them a little, it is helping me understanding the concept better.

For C# 1.1 developers it has special notes on changes in 2.0 (The copy of my book was written when Beta 2.0 was released. I don't know if there is a newer edition of this book.)

The best thing is, it has special notes for Mono and Shared Source CLI users too. I haven't seen this feature in any other book in the bookshop. (It is little costly, but I got 30% discount on this book. )
    Last edited by iPrank; Mar 17th, 2006 at 08:40 AM. Reason: link edited
    Usefull VBF Threads/Posts I Found . My flickr page .
    "I love being married. It's so great to find that one special person you want to annoy for the rest of your life." - Rita Rudner

I'm about to be a PowerPoster! Hack's Avatar

Since becoming the C# Mod, I have done a bunch of searching and researching for answers to questions that have been posted here.