|
-
Feb 26th, 2001, 11:39 PM
#1
Thread Starter
Frenzied Member
i just want to know, lets say I type in ftp://www.macromedia.com
and the people at macromedia did something wrong, and I can download all the program files (full version) off that website. If I download anything, can they press any charges on me?
NXSupport - Your one-stop source for computer help
-
Feb 26th, 2001, 11:42 PM
#2
Frenzied Member
Yes, for software piracy. Not sure about the unauthorised access. I expect it would be seen as unauthorised access to their network, which is illegal I think.
Harry.
"From one thing, know ten thousand things."
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 06:15 AM
#3
Addicted Member
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 09:38 AM
#4
Member
don't think so...
It's their problem if they didn't put the right security on the files! Except if you try to bypass something...that's different, but if all the files are free to download, well go ahead! You didn't violate any law!
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 09:44 AM
#5
Frenzied Member
Well he did if he takes posession of copyrighted material without a license.
Harry.
"From one thing, know ten thousand things."
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 02:50 PM
#6
Thread Starter
Frenzied Member
Active: I know it doesn't work, it was just an example
i think that I can get in trouble, but i'm not sure
NXSupport - Your one-stop source for computer help
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 02:59 PM
#7
Addicted Member
If you got the Link to that Download from their Visible
html Page then I think it would be none of Your Problem.
On the Other hand If you got to their hidden Page
from other sources I am Not Sure.
If you Directly downloaded the file from their site
With no reference to it's Existense given publicly
Then You have a Problem.
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 03:01 PM
#8
Thread Starter
Frenzied Member
how about the situation I stated in my first post
could I get in trouble for that?
NXSupport - Your one-stop source for computer help
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 03:04 PM
#9
Addicted Member
May I know how you got the Link to the Download ?
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 03:11 PM
#10
Thread Starter
Frenzied Member
I'm not saying I got a link, IF i got a link
like by just browsing there folders
NXSupport - Your one-stop source for computer help
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 03:15 PM
#11
Addicted Member
Not Sure about that...
But once Two Internet Sites gave a Link
to IE6 beta on Microsoft Servers.
Even Before the First Hour, at Least 1000
have downloaded it. Microsoft is now dealing
only with those Websites and Not those who
downloaded it.
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 03:18 PM
#12
Thread Starter
Frenzied Member
u have beta 6?
how big is it?
NXSupport - Your one-stop source for computer help
-
Feb 27th, 2001, 03:24 PM
#13
Addicted Member
No...I was not the one in that 1000.
Microsoft acted Quickly before I could.
-
Feb 28th, 2001, 07:09 AM
#14
Lively Member
You possibly could get in trouble you downloaded without a license, but as you are a single user and you weren't intending to sell for profit these files or allow others to download them they probably wouldn't really care. As for finding you....
Now, aren't you sorry you didn't just keep on scrolling?
-
Feb 28th, 2001, 10:47 AM
#15
Originally posted by Active
No...I was not the one in that 1000.
Microsoft acted Quickly before I could.
I know an FTP server where you can get IE beta6!
-
Feb 28th, 2001, 03:17 PM
#16
Thread Starter
Frenzied Member
can you please share it with the forum
if not, can you please email it to me at [email protected]
NXSupport - Your one-stop source for computer help
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width
|