Thread: Vb .net - Operate in another process for mouse and resolution

Vb .net - Operate in another process for mouse and resolution

Hi all, i have a problem:
    I have a program in Vb .net that must operate with a specific window of Chrome.
    In my program, trough processes, i am able to search and find the window of chrome (trough the Maintitle) , obtain an handle and an id of the window.
    Now i must "communicate" with this particular window and set his resolution (different from my pc resolution and without changing my pc resolution, only the window), and move the mouse to specific coordinates and click on objects.
    In this moment i am stuck because i have no idea if i can communicate with this window and how, maybe trough Api or something similar?
    Thanks in advance for you help. I'm here waiting for hints.
    Diego.
    I am not a professional, so be easy in explanations
    Last edited by Shaggy Hiker; Jun 1st, 2024 at 01:10 PM.

Re: Vb .net - Operate in another process for mouse and resolution

Since you are talking about Chrome, and clicking on specific coordinates, it sounds like you are talking about automating some web process. If that's the case, the best answer is to avoid doing this if there is ANY other way. Even if you can make that work, in most cases it will drive you mad. There is something in the makeup of web masters that drives them to alter their pages frequently. What works today, fails tomorrow, and so forth.

However, the alternatives are highly dependent on what you are actually doing.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

Thank you Shaggy. I subscribe EVERY single letter you wrote. But unfortunately i must do this job in this way. (maybe i can explain in private better) I am already mad as you told but it is mandatory and so i go on.