Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] I broke the IDE

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    86

    Resolved [RESOLVED] I broke the IDE

    Hi, I have had two PCs side by side with VB6(SP6) installed and running perfectly for many years. Yesterday I fat-fingered the keyboard and missed the File menu and probably tapped some unknown toolbar buttons. Now the File > Make Project.exe menu is disabled. I have no idea why, I can copy the project folder to the other PC and the IDE menus are as expected.All projects on this one PC exhibit the same symptoms.

    I have checked everything I can think of (twice). I know it's a long shot, but anyone have any ideas?

    TIA, Bob.

  2. #2
    Addicted Member Mongoose_MHS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2024
    Posts
    182

    Re: I broke the IDE

    Set PC back to a saved point when it worked?
    Re-install it.. select "Repair"?
    Last edited by Mongoose_MHS; May 20th, 2024 at 04:05 PM.
    Monroe High School.. GO HORNETS!

    If I've help you, please add to my reputation level! Each reply has a "STAR" icon followed by: "Rate this post".. click that

  3. #3
    PowerPoster Arnoutdv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6,068

    Re: I broke the IDE

    Right click somewhere on the menu bar -> Customize -> Toolbars -> button "Reset"

  4. #4
    Wall Poster TysonLPrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: I broke the IDE

    Quote Originally Posted by Arnoutdv View Post
    Right click somewhere on the menu bar -> Customize -> Toolbars -> button "Reset"
    This works...
    Please remember next time...elections matter!

  5. #5
    Wall Poster TysonLPrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: I broke the IDE

    Quote Originally Posted by Mongoose_MHS View Post
    Set PC back to a saved point when it worked?
    Re-install it.. select "Repair"?
    That is some real overkill
    Please remember next time...elections matter!

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    86

    Re: I broke the IDE

    Arnoutdv, you're my lifesaver today. I didn't even know the option existed. Many thanks, Bob.

  7. #7
    Addicted Member Mongoose_MHS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2024
    Posts
    182

    Re: I broke the IDE

    Quote Originally Posted by K4CY View Post
    I know it's a long shot, but anyone have any ideas?

    TIA, Bob.
    Well, to be fair and in all honesty.. You did ask if "anyone" had any ideas. Well, I gave you a couple..

    Quote Originally Posted by TysonLPrice View Post
    That is some real overkill
    I NEVER said it wouldn't take some effort on your part.. Lastly I didn't know about the alternative that was given to you that worked. Otherwise, I would have mentioned it. Afterall, you did say "any ideas"..

    but I did try to help you with your question to my best knowledge.
    Last edited by Mongoose_MHS; May 21st, 2024 at 04:38 PM.
    Monroe High School.. GO HORNETS!

    If I've help you, please add to my reputation level! Each reply has a "STAR" icon followed by: "Rate this post".. click that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width