Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: A question

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    A question

    I've been gone from here for a long time. The whole old crew when I used to hang out here and post a lot seems to be gone. I can only assume they either moved on to VB.Net or got rich selling their VB apps and bought an island and retired. That's the only answer.

    That's just an observation.

    I want to post some screenshots of my app that I'm pretty proud of even though it's really retro. I mean it is VB6 after all.

    But when I do post screenshots they stay little pics in the post that you can't click or expand so you can't see anything.

    Is there a trick to posting a screenshot so it can be clicked and enlarged?

  2. #2
    PowerPoster Elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Near Nashville TN
    Posts
    10,201

    Re: A question

    Showing attached pics only seem to work if you go to "Advanced" mode first.
    Any software I post in these forums written by me is provided "AS IS" without warranty of any kind, expressed or implied, and permission is hereby granted, free of charge and without restriction, to any person obtaining a copy. To all, peace and happiness.

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    Re: A question

    Quote Originally Posted by Elroy View Post
    Showing attached pics only seem to work if you go to "Advanced" mode first.
    OK. Thanks. I'll try that.

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    Re: A question

    That didn't work.

    Still not clickable to a larger image.

    The image I posted is 1080p.

    The real resolution is 4K but it won't let me upload a file that size. I could probably down-sample it a lot to get it to post but there would still be the problem of it being too small in the post and not able to be enlarged.

  5. #5
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    9,214

    Re: A question

    I saw your image in the other thread; yes, not good resolution for us. Perhaps you can break it into, say, FOUR quadrants and post all for...we may be able to better see it then.

    And, in your other thread, kinda need to know what your real question is. Is it how to reset the Options on your form after someone with certain authorization makes a change? Kinda confusing over there. But, maybe the image(s) you send might better explain what you are asking.
    Sam I am (as well as Confused at times).

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    Re: A question

    The other thread was just talking about me doing something stupid. I did that all over my app and now have to go and fix all of it.

    A global search and replace will definitely break the whole thing so I have to do it manually.

    Again, sorry if I posted in the wrong place.

  7. #7
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    64

    Re: A question

    Try to upload your screenshot to some free image host and put link here.


    https://images3.alphacoders.com/133/1332803.png

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    Re: A question

    OK. I can upload to my own site. But then it's just a link and not an inline image, right?

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    Re: A question

    Quote Originally Posted by Zann View Post
    Try to upload your screenshot to some free image host and put link here.


    https://images3.alphacoders.com/133/1332803.png

    PS. The image you posted reminds me of this:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_uD_BqC2gg&t=5446s

  10. #10
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    64

    Re: A question

    Yes, that is correct.

  11. #11
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,932

    Re: A question

    No you can show images from 3rd party sites. Most of the time... for a time... there's a long-unfixed bug that might randomly eat it in the future, maybe months, maybe years. It tries to grab to the image and make it a local one, but fails at some point, leaving a blank spot referencing an invalid local URL.

    [img]url[/img]

    You can also do this:

    [URL="https://...LinkToFullSize.jpg"][img]https://...LinkToThumbnail.jpg[/img][/URL]

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster cafeenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,646

    Re: A question

    Quote Originally Posted by fafalone View Post
    No you can show images from 3rd party sites. Most of the time... for a time... there's a long-unfixed bug that might randomly eat it in the future, maybe months, maybe years. It tries to grab to the image and make it a local one, but fails at some point, leaving a blank spot referencing an invalid local URL.

    [img]https://www.vbforums.com/[/img]

    You can also do this:

    [URL="https://...LinkToFullSize.jpg"][img]https://www.vbforums.com/[/img][/URL]
    works like a charm. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width