Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: RDLC granularity

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    155

    RDLC granularity

    Is there a way to enlarge or reduce the granularity on the report viewer? I am trying to print on some small labels using a Thermal label printer. The problem is even when margins are set to 0 and trying to move fields close to the edge of the label in the designer, I can move it but it moved like it is snapping to the grid on some stuff but not others. It seems it is only on the right as you near the edge of the label. So I can't get it close enough to the right edge so I am loosing space.

  2. #2
    PowerPoster jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    2,404

    Re: RDLC granularity

    What make and model of label printer are you using? Zebra, or something else?

    You may be able to scale the label size using the printer driver. Note that you should print some test labels to make sure that they will actually scan properly if you scale the size.

    On Zebra printers, there are also settings on the printer driver to move the label position.

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    155

    Re: RDLC granularity

    Honeywell and Intermec. I know there are things you can do with drivers but its a bit over my head. I have called Honeywell and they are no help. Probably unless you pay big $$$. I can use programs like Labelview, but they are not as efficient as home grown apps that make it easy for the end user to do only what they need too. Thanks

  4. #4
    PowerPoster jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    2,404

    Re: RDLC granularity

    I mentioned drivers since you were having trouble with margins. If you do not have the driver or printer hardware margins set up correctly, you will not be able to get your software to print as close to the edge as you want. Most label printers should have a way to set up the margins once and save them, so then your software will work. You will probably have to check the user manuals for those printers to see what settings or codes might be needed to adjust the margins.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    155

    Re: RDLC granularity

    Well on the old Visual Foxpro you could select the printer to use with the layout. In Visual Studio, I don't see that option so I do not know how to go forward. But do appreciate your help.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    2,404

    Re: RDLC granularity

    Possibly useful links:

    https://github.com/microsoft/AL/issues/6896

    https://www.sqlservercentral.com/art...-print-reports

    https://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=999793

    Another option might be to print to a .pdf file, and then printer the .pdf file to the appropriate printer.

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    155

    Re: RDLC granularity

    jdc2000 - I am already doing tek-tips and selecting the printer based on the size they pick. But the git-hub option looks interesting. Will follow that. Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width