Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Anywhere I want to.
    Posts
    67

    Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    I have a fresh newish Dell Win 7 Pro laptop.
    UAC off. Aero off.
    I have vb6 .ISO files and also .ISO files unloaded to folders on the laptop.
    I created the empty MSJAVA.DLL and put in Windows folder.
    Every thing I could think of was done to try to install.
    I kept getting to the point where the installer asked me for the file folder for installation.
    It would not accept the actual file folder containing the installation files.
    Trying to browse caused the installer to error out.

    So I got out the Visual Studio 6 Enterprise CDs.
    I tried several times and it kept asking me to update JAVA so I did otherwise the install just quit.
    The laptop rebooted at every attempt then asked again to update JAVA. A mad circular fiasco.

    === ENLIGHTENMENT ===
    So I deleted the MSJAVA.DLL and guess what, the installer proceedd to install VB6 (all I wanted).
    Then I installed SP6. The updated to the latest common controls. All went well until ...
    I now have a MSJAVA.DLL file of 824KB. Not wanted !

    I rebooted just for the sake of it.

    I loaded a simple VB6 app into the IDE and all was good.
    Then I tried loading a complex VB6 source into the IDE and all Heck broke out.
    This source code is good and it loads, runs and compiles on my other Win 7 Pro laptop (Lenovo)

    === NOW THE PROBLEM IS ===
    Seems the files e.g. MSCOMCTL.OCX and others are not registered.
    MSCOMCTL.OCX won't register even when in SYSWOW64

    What to do ?

    So I did this ( found this with a Google search )
    ' Open a CMD window and run each.
    cd C:\Windows\SysWOW64
    dir /r MSCOMCTL.OCX
    dir /r comdlg32.dll
    regsvr32.exe MSCOMCTL.OCX
    Says success ! BUT ...

    No joy yet.
    The IDE will not load the SP6 components !

    I'LL BE BACK ...

  2. #2
    The Idiot
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2,747

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    very strange I have windows 7 and installed it twice, no issues at all.
    and I have a windows 10 computer as well, also worked without much difficulty.

  3. #3
    Frenzied Member VanGoghGaming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Eve Online - Mining, Missions & Market Trading!
    Posts
    1,537

    Post Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    It's painless with the VS6 Installer from this post: https://www.vbforums.com/showthread....=1#post5594771

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Anywhere I want to.
    Posts
    67

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    I do not trust that installer.
    Anyway, I cannot see how to download it to give it a try.

    Still no joy !

  5. #5
    Frenzied Member VanGoghGaming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Eve Online - Mining, Missions & Market Trading!
    Posts
    1,537

    Lightbulb Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    The download link is right in the post above. The installer is very safe and it works 100%, it was originally from the VBCorner site but apparently the owner died.

  6. #6
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    243

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    I just used XP Mode back then to run VB6 and even Visual Studio .Net. Now I just have an XP virtual machine that I keep VB6 installed in.

  7. #7
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    176

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    Quote Originally Posted by baka View Post
    very strange I have windows 7 and installed it twice, no issues at all.
    and I have a windows 10 computer as well, also worked without much difficulty.
    Same here.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Anywhere I want to.
    Posts
    67

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    I have tried virtual machines in the past and they do not work with my apps !
    I interface external hardware, USB, Serial, Webcams and others.

  9. #9
    PowerPoster yereverluvinuncleber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Norfolk UK (inbred)
    Posts
    2,261

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    I have had no insurmountable problems installing VB6. I did have some issues when installing multiple versions of visual studio, then uninstalling. However, VB6 always installs.

    My notes:

    Prior to installation look for this file on your PC, you should have it if .NET is already installed:

    regtlibv12.exe

    preferably in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319

    Then look for this file using 'everything' from voidtools.

    msdatsrc.tlb

    Once found, execute this command from a console window running as administrator:

    C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\regtlibv12.exe msdatsrc.tlb

    This registers a required legacy type lib. This will prevent "object not registered" errors when loading ocx (user defined controls) to the VB6 IDE. Required on Win 7+ 64bit.

    Install from the ISO (I have built an ISO from the CD a long, long time ago)

    Ensure that VB6 install folder has already been unzipped, you need the enterprise version. Note you cannot install it from an SDcard as VB wants to create folders locally. Instead, copy the whole vb6 install folder to a temporary installation location on the hard drive.

    Manually create the following empty file in windows\system32 - msjava.dll, the installation will fail if you do not.

    Find and run setup.exe

    the installation may take a long time as it searches the whole hard drive area(s) for existing installations of VB6. It may fail.

    (If it does then run: acmssetup.exe and afterwards re-run SETUP.EXE)

    In the options screen, select data access, click change option and remove ADO/RDS.
    select enterprise tools (change option), click change option and remove visual studio analyser

    During the installation there may be some errors javasign.dll and registry and attempts to synch sourcesafe but click through all of these. It may state installation failed - but actually it probably went well.

    Do a SP6 update in my case I copied the contents of an existing VB6 VB98 installation folder from program files over the existing contents of the newly installed VB6 folder.

    copy the contents of the above to the following folder in the program files (x86) folder Microsoft Visual Studio

    I never had any real problems and the above was just my notes from the previous installations.
    https://github.com/yereverluvinunclebert

    Skillset: VMS,DOS,Windows Sysadmin from 1985, fault-tolerance, VaxCluster, Alpha,Sparc. DCL,QB,VBDOS- VB6,.NET, PHP,NODE.JS, Graphic Design, Project Manager, CMS, Quad Electronics. classic cars & m'bikes. Artist in water & oils. Historian.

    By the power invested in me, all the threads I start are battle free zones - no arguing about the benefits of VB6 over .NET here please. Happiness must reign.

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Anywhere I want to.
    Posts
    67

    Re: Win 7 Pro VB6 install = tale of woe. Maybe this will help others.

    Thanks "Bob", I will give it a try.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width