Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [RESOLVED] Project executables not working in new computer.

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bottesford, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,378

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Project executables not working in new computer.

    Hi,

    I've been working with Windows 10 computers, I develop my projects on one of them which has been Windows 10 from purchase, then install the executable files on two other Windows 10 laptops, one of which is a very cheap Lenovo notebook with Very limited memory and the other an elderly machine which was originally Windows 7, I've never had any problems.

    We've just retired the Lenovo and bought a new 'GeoBook 2E 12.5-inch Laptop Windows 10 Intel Celeron 4GB RAM AC Wi-Fi 64GB eMMC' and I find that some of my projects won't run on the new laptop.

    We have some very simple, downloaded games which we've had for many years (at least from Windows XP, Visa, 7 and 10) which won't run on the new computer either despite working well and correctly on the other three machines.

    I wonder what to look for to try to find a solution to this problem.
    I've checked as far as I can that the OS and drivers are up-to-date, especially the graphics card, which they are now.


    Poppa
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  2. #2
    PowerPoster jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    2,168

    Re: Project executables not working in new computer.

    What error messages, if any, do you get?

    VB6 or VB .Net or other Apps?

  3. #3
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23,810

    Re: Project executables not working in new computer.

    Yeah, what does "won't run" actually mean?

    The only thing suspicious is running in x64 Windows (an assumption, you didn't tell us that) with only 4GB of RAM. 64-bit operation squanders a ton of memory, eats CPU registers and cache alive, and can lead to torrential swapping. When the latter is the issue eMMC doesn't help matters one bit.

    But I would only expect the symptom of those issues to be poor performance. Even poorer than normal for such a low-spec machine.

    I have an Acer Revo Build mini-PC with similar specs. It came with 2GB but I upgraded it to 4GB but even out of the box it could run most of my stuff, it was just slow. More RAM helped but did not radically change the situation.


    So there must be something else going on.

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bottesford, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,378

    Re: Project executables not working in new computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post
    What error messages, if any, do you get?

    VB6 or VB. Net or other Apps?
    vb.NET

    My stuff turned out to be a question of LongDate not being correctly set, and a change of folder address.

    As regards third party games, one just stops when ever we click 'Options', a couple of others just say "Ooops, something went wrong !' others display the 'Wait' cursor for a few moments and then just restore the default cursor.

    Poppa

    PS.
    Yes, x64

    Pop
    Last edited by Poppa Mintin; Sep 12th, 2022 at 06:06 PM. Reason: PS added.
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  5. #5
    PowerPoster jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    2,168

    Re: Project executables not working in new computer.

    Post the names of the games that are having issues and we can check on the specs for them.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bottesford, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,378

    Re: Project executables not working in new computer.

    I'm still having a problem with the one third party game my wife likes to play...

    MahJongg Towers II

    Start the game, and we get an error message:
    Script error Continue? [yes] [no]
    Click yes, the next screen appears and a moment or two later:
    Script error Continue? [yes] [no]
    Click yes, the game screen appears and a moment or two later:
    Script error Continue? [yes] [no]

    Clicking yes from then on only results in the same error message... every time.

    I bought this game again (from Big Fish Games) because it's her favourite, but I could only find it in a German language version. We know our way around the game so that didn't matter too much.
    I installed the game and this one works...
    ...provided that we don't click the 'Options' button. Do that and 'return' and the whole game disregards any clicks anywhere, I have to use Task Manager to close it. The default options are really tame and not what we want, especially the 'Game Sounds', so it's a disappointment.

    I complained to Big Fish over a week ago but have had no reply, not even an acknowledgement of the email.


    Poppa
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bottesford, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,378

    Re: Project executables not working in new computer.

    Oh dear !

    I can't believe I didn't think of using the 'Compatibility' tab !

    Duh !!

    All fixed.

    Poppa
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width