Thread: Mobile Maps Options

Mobile Maps Options

I've been looking into a mobile application that needs to be used offline with aerial imagery. The target platform would be an Android device of some sort, though probably a tablet. What I'm looking for here is whether or not I have overlooked something?

My first thought would be to go with Cordova using Leaflet, which is a JS library. I have some experience with Cordova in VS, and Leaflet is a good-looking tool that would meet my needs completely. Unfortunately, MS dropped Cordova from VS 2019, which means that to use that I'd have to stick with VS 2017, which would become an increasing burden. Using non-VS is an option, though not an entirely welcome one, as I work in an MS shop.

I then started looking at Xamarin, which appears to be the MS solution for cross platform development. Xamarin has the Maps NuGet package, but the more I look at it, the more it looks like that is online only and tied to either Google (which seems to be opposed to offline) and Bing (which doesn't appear to do offline, either).

A third option, which I haven't dug into too deeply, is the ESRI ArcGIS runtime for Xamarin Forms. I haven't determined whether or not ESRIS allows offline maps, but it probably does. ESRI has a convoluted and expensive licensing structure. The fortunate point there is that we have loads of ESRI licenses, though perhaps not enough of the right type for me to use this. That's a solvable problem if it just means getting one more ESRI developer license.