Thread: [Word] suggestings for optimizing my macro that uses Application.CompareDocuments

[Word] suggestings for optimizing my macro that uses Application.CompareDocuments

I'm a translator and I work in Word (using a CAT tool that runs in Word), and over the years I have taught myself to write macros that improve my productivity. This is one of them. I'd appreciate any advice on how to optimize/speed up/improve it.

What it does:
    prints text from a first bookmark in my active document into a first txt file
    prints text from a second bookmark in my active document into a second txt file
    compares the two text files using Word's compare (Application.CompareDocuments) function
    bakes in the revisions (additions as underlined text, deletions as strikethrough text), and adds highlighting for further visibility
    pastes the result as formatted text into my active document.

It gets executed multiple times throughout my workflow, potentially with every sentence I translate. It's decently fast on my personal gaming rig at home, but markedly slower on my potato at work. I'd like to optimize it so it runs faster and smoother, even if just a little.

Some notes:
    I use Word 2007.
    The CompareDocuments function is inherently slow since it requires Word to open the documents, so I have a feeling that is the major bottleneck.
    I'm open to using a different method than Application.CompareDocuments to obtain the formatted compared text, but I have not been able to think of one.

Code:
    Sub wf_diff()

Dim doc0 As Document
    Dim doc1 As Document
    Dim doc2 As Document
    Dim doc1file As String
    Dim doc2file As String
    Dim doc1Print As String
    Dim doc2Print As String
    Dim RngTMSource As range
    Dim RngSource As range
    Dim RngCompare As range

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

'---------failsafe procedures---------
    If ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Exists("WfTMSource") = False Then