Thread: Transition VB 6.0 --> C hopefully in Windows

Addicted Member

Question Transition VB 6.0 --> C hopefully in Windows

So I'm very familiar with VB 6.0 (XPPro, 7, 10), and decades ago I got my degree in Computer Science. Currently writing some code, but nothing big, mostly test fixtures with PC interface because I also have an AS in electronics to create the interface circuits. I have a poor to mediocre understanding of OO programming, and I rarely use it myself :-}

Anyway, a consultant we hired in the past is no longer available. He created a C program (linux environment) and I'll be getting the source and makefile~. Bosses want this C program to run in Windows, its mostly a simple command line style Serial Interface for a product we don't make any more, but now suddenly we have orders for...?

I'm not sure what to do with this, decades ago I used Turbo C from Borland, not sure if I still have the disks, or if Borland is still a company haha. Wondering if you'all have any suggestions.

I do have a linux PC here running 20.04 LTS (ubuntu), and I know enough about it to be dangerous.

~ we're getting this stuff from the executor of his estate, if that answers your question, funny story...

Re: Transition VB 6.0 --> C hopefully in Windows

Moderator Actions: Moved from VB6 forum to C and C++ forum.
    "Code is like humor. When you have to explain it, it is bad." - Cory House
    VbLessons | Code Tags | Sword of Fury - Jameram

Addicted Member

Quote Originally Posted by dday9 View Post
    Moderator Actions: Moved from VB6 forum to C and C++ forum.
    I know I did bad...sorry.

Mais it's no big deal. It was a couple of mouse clicks for me.
    "Code is like humor. When you have to explain it, it is bad." - Cory House
    VbLessons | Code Tags | Sword of Fury - Jameram

Can't help with linux (as I don't use it), but could provide c/c++ advise using MS Visual Studio c/c++ with Windows.