Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: [RESOLVED] VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,245

    Resolved [RESOLVED] VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    I've got VB6 installed and running in Windows 10 after following some tips.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't behave right.

    For example, when I set a BREAKPOINT and then RUN the app, it stops at the breakpoint, highlights it normally, but then I can't do anything else. It just 'dings' whenever I click on something.

    I've set compatibility to XP, win7, and Run as Admin with no success.

    I also notice the Inspect window opens in another monitor (I have 3 monitor setup).

    Any suggestions?

    TIA
    Last edited by webbiz; Aug 20th, 2021 at 09:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    25

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by webbiz View Post
    I've got VB6 installed and running in Windows 10 after following some tips.

    Unfortunately, it doesn't behave right.

    For example, when I set a BREAKPOINT and then RUN the app, it stops at the breakpoint, highlights it normally, but then I can't do anything else. It just 'dings' whenever I click on something.

    I've set compatibility to XP, win7, and Run as Admin with no success.

    I also notice the Inspect window opens in another monitor (I have 3 monitor setup).

    Any suggestions?

    TIA
    I've been using VB6 under Windows 10 for several years without any issues. You do need to set the compatibility for XP and Run-as-Admin, but apart from that, it's straightforward.

    I followed the instructions at 40 Pound Head to get these results.

  3. #3
    PowerPoster wqweto's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    5,163

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Do you have Service Pack 6 for VS6 installed?

    Quote Originally Posted by R.J. Dunnill View Post
    You do need to set the compatibility for XP and Run-as-Admin, but apart from that, it's straightforward.
    You actually don't need this and it's dire consequences have been discussed enough here. Can we stop spreading FUD already. . .

    cheers,
    </wqw>

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    14,205

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Yeah I have never set compatibility on VB, Just install it properly and set it to run as admin and haven't had any issues.

    As far as the issue reported in the OP I would guess that there is a message box popped up somewhere that is blocking the IDE.
    Under such condition all you will get is a ding when you click on anything in the ide until you clear the message.

  5. #5
    PowerPoster SamOscarBrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    9,176

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    When it gets to that breakpoint, can you minimize it? Or at least, using Windows key-combos, see ALL apps that may be running (visually)? There MAY be a pop-up BEHIND your VB6 screen(s).
    Sam I am (as well as Confused at times).

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    25

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by wqweto View Post
    Do you have Service Pack 6 for VS6 installed?


    You actually don't need this and it's dire consequences have been discussed enough here. Can we stop spreading FUD already. . .

    cheers,
    </wqw>
    I have the misfortune of having to work with VB6 in a professional capacity, not just as a developer among two dozen in the group, but as a buildmaster who sets up Jenkins on Windows Server 2019 servers for automated build jobs.

    Yes, you can install VB6 without XP compatibility and without run-as-admin, but it won't work properly. We've been there, done that, got the T-shirt.

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,068

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    is the code doing subclassing anywhere?

  8. #8
    The Idiot
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2,730

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    as dz32 is point at,
    what does your code do. maybe it has nothing to do with windows 10 at all.
    a "break" can crash the entire IDE, if done in the "wrong" time.

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,245

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by SamOscarBrown View Post
    When it gets to that breakpoint, can you minimize it? Or at least, using Windows key-combos, see ALL apps that may be running (visually)? There MAY be a pop-up BEHIND your VB6 screen(s).
    Unfortunately I cannot minimize it or anything else.
    And I pull up the task manager to see what is running and also place my mouse over the taskbar icon to see what is visually up and there are no message boxes.

    In addition, I've tried this in VirtualBox with both the Windows 7 OS and the XP SP3 OS. In all cases, it acts the same.

    So this leads me to think I have some wacky settings or something. I've installed my VB6 from an ISO in all cases, Disk 1. It doesn't appear to ask me for Disk 2.

    Puzzled.

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,245

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by dz32 View Post
    is the code doing subclassing anywhere?
    YES! It is monitoring the mouse for scrolling. I didn't think of that. I'll disable that code and give it a try. Thanks!

  11. #11

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,245

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by dz32 View Post
    is the code doing subclassing anywhere?
    Well, I disabled the subclassing code making sure to comment out the Hook/Unhook. And sure enough, it is behaving normal now.

    Thanks a bunch. I forgot how 'hooking' the app and requires an 'unhooking' before I do anything to disrupt the run or close improperly.

    :-)

  12. #12
    PowerPoster wqweto's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    5,163

    Re: [RESOLVED] VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    MST has IDE-safe both subclassing and hooking so that debugger does not freeze on breakpoint and IDE does not crash when session is stopped with End button.

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,245

    Re: [RESOLVED] VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by wqweto View Post
    MST has IDE-safe both subclassing and hooking so that debugger does not freeze on breakpoint and IDE does not crash when session is stopped with End button.
    I'll have to check that out. Thanks. :-)

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,245

    Re: VB6 Locks up at breakpoint in Windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by wqweto View Post
    Do you have Service Pack 6 for VS6 installed?


    You actually don't need this and it's dire consequences have been discussed enough here. Can we stop spreading FUD already. . .

    cheers,
    </wqw>
    I know this is a 'resolved' thread but I thought I should at least mention something on this.

    In my case, I do need to use my Win7 or XP virtual machine to do 'some' VB6 IDE work. This is because I am using a third-party library from Infragistics called SSActiveToolBars where the menu customization does not work or show up at all under Windows 10. So when I have to add or modify a menu item, I have to go to the VM with XP, make the change, then move my dev files back to my regular Windows 10 (non VM) to continue work as usual. Odd problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width