Thread: variable not defined

variable not defined

I am a novice user and vision impaired. my program required me to fix some items in a list which I was able to do successfully. However, when I clicked on make exe I get variable not defined.

CommonDialog1 is highlighted second line after the equals sign
    here's the code sample:

Private Sub mnuHelpContents_Click()
    CommonDialog1.HelpFile = CommonDialog1.HelpFile
    CommonDialog1.HelpCommand = cdlHelpContents
    CommonDialog1.ShowHelp
    End Sub

my program has a help button in the menu but doesn't work as windows stopped winhelp from working in windows 10

any ideas? Thanks

Re: variable not defined

1) you've posted in the Codebank which is for sharing code snips, not getting help - I'll ask the mods to move the thread to a more appropriate location.
    2) How does this line even make sense:
    Code:
    CommonDialog1.HelpFile = CommonDialog1.HelpFile
    You set a equal to a ... there's no need for that... it is what it is, and doesn't need to be set back to itself. What it SHOULD be set to is the path where the help file is located.

-tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

thank you, I will give it a try. I have 2 help files one is winhelp which does not work. Microsoft dropped it. Have an HTML help FILE
    maybe this causing a similiar problem trying to get it to work also. I will use your suggestion

Frenzied Member