Thread: Splitting a large string while adding it to a listview?

Splitting a large string while adding it to a listview?

Hello, I am looking for guidance on how to Split up this large string, while also adding it to my listview.

*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST& %SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND# !THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$

I am looking to add every single 'FIRST' as the listview item, 'SECOND' as the subitem, and 'THIRD' as the last subitem.

At the moment, I am only able to add the first set into my listview.
    I have a feeling I need a loop, as well as remove part of the string once it has been added to the listview, but I am quite new to VB and have tried and tried, though unsuccessful.
    If you are someone who could help resolve this for me id be really greatfull for your help.

Code:
    Dim stringdata as string = "*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$*@FIRST&%SECOND#!THIRD$"

Dim ida As Integer = stringdata.IndexOf("@")
    Dim fda As String = stringdata.Substring(ida + 1, stringdata.IndexOf("&", id + 1) - id - 1)
    Dim idb As Integer = stringdata.IndexOf("%")
    Dim fdb As String = stringdata.Substring(idb + 1, stringdata.IndexOf("#", id + 1) - id - 1)
    Dim idc As Integer = stringdata.IndexOf("!")
    Dim fdc As String = stringdata.Substring(idc + 1, stringdata.IndexOf("$", id + 1) - id - 1)

ListView1.Items.Add(New ListViewItem({fda, fdb, fdc}))
    This is all I have been able to pull from that string
    Name:  123.png
Views: 171
Size:  1.3 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by VBnoobie1; Jun 17th, 2021 at 08:58 PM.

Re: Splitting a large string while adding it to a listview?