Thread: [Word] Trying to automatically change the font size of numbers in a textbox

[Word] Trying to automatically change the font size of numbers in a textbox

Hi everyone,

I have very little experience with VB in general, but I'm trying to change the font size of any number found in a given textbox. When I run the module (or macro? I'm not sure if there is a difference), I want it to find any number in a given text and increase that number by 3 font sizes.

Example:

TWO-ACADEMY AWARD® WINNER DUSTIN HOFFMAN (BEST ACTOR —RAIN MAN, 1998; KRAMER VS. KRAMER, 1979) STARS IN THE ACTION-PACKED GANGSTER EPIC DETAILING THE RISE AND FALL OF NOTORIOUS MOBSTER DUTCH SCHULTZ AS SEEN THROUGH THE EYES OF YOUNG PROTÉGÉ, BILLY BATHGATE.

Output:

TWO-ACADEMY AWARD® WINNER DUSTIN HOFFMAN (BEST ACTOR —RAIN MAN, 1998; KRAMER VS. KRAMER, 1979) STARS IN THE ACTION-PACKED GANGSTER EPIC DETAILING THE RISE AND FALL OF NOTORIOUS MOBSTER DUTCH SCHULTZ AS SEEN THROUGH THE EYES OF YOUNG PROTÉGÉ, BILLY BATHGATE.

PowerPoster

Re: [Word] Trying to automatically change the font size of numbers in a textbox

maybe this is just a website issue, but i really can not see the difference in output

you can try like
    Code:
    Set tb = ThisDocument.Shapes(1)
    With tb
        For Each ch In .TextFrame.TextRange.Characters
            If IsNumeric(ch) Then ch.Font.Size = ch.Font.Size + 3
        Next
    End With
    where tb is your specific textbox
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete