Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to change Letter default assembly

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    158

    How to change Letter default assembly

    Change character representation in assembly. How to change any letter inserted by some other letter design?

    example: pattern is letter A I change the drawing to A in Japanese or Arabic.

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,394

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    More information required. What OS are we talking about? What kind of hardware?

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    158

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Swinkels View Post
    More information required. What OS are we talking about? What kind of hardware?
    let's take a more basic technology, as it's not very complex we're talking about a 386 8 bit computer with 512 ram just for testing that I mess with it in assembly when I did colors and prompts.

  4. #4
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,394

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    A 386 is 32 bit.

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    158

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Swinkels View Post
    A 386 is 32 bit.
    well exactly, i want to run on old computers but not so much automatically on a boot without any configuration it will go into 16 bit mode.

  6. #6
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,394

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    1. Define old.
    2. 16-bit mode? That is real mode.
    3. What do CPU modes have to do with character output?

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    158

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Swinkels View Post
    1. Define old.
    2. 16-bit mode? That is real mode.
    3. What do CPU modes have to do with character output?
    The old one I mean is with old features pre-installed CPU assembly, as modern computers already support a more complete 16bit assembly with improved cpu features, older computers received 16bit assembly with less implementations.

    the real cpu mode doesn't matter it's the computers mode itself.

    the print characters only have to do with my type of display the hardware doesn't change.

  8. #8
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,394

    Re: How to change Letter default assembly

    1. Yes, new computers have improved CPU features and do all the stuff older CPU's do. Why not use them instead of begging for Commodore 64 CPU's?
    2. I have no idea what a computer mode is.
    3. Well, and what is your display hardware?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width