Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1,442

    TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    so, Im thinking, better to have its own thread instead of mixing with twinbasic.

    what I would like this thread to be:

    - installation instructions
    step by step how to install RC into twinbasic

    - noob projects
    a bunch of small projects that can be download to see how RC can be used together with twinbasic

    - RC questions.
    like, can RC be used in 64bit mode? if not will it be available?

    - Twin+RC+Cross=possible and what challenges will it have.

  2. #2
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    259

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    For those who haven't seen the twinBASIC RC6 example...

    twinBASIC RC6

    Github source code for the RC6 example

    Name:  116316624-84dc9d00-a7b2-11eb-9856-8905db6ce442.png
Views: 279
Size:  148.5 KB

  3. #3
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    106

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Good idea Baks
    I have to confess that as much through laziness as stupidity that I know hardly anything about RC6, what it can do and why one would use it.
    I have some half baked impressions that I would not even dare to commit to writing as I'd be fairly sure that they'd be wrong.

  4. #4
    Taking a Break
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    1,340

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Quote Originally Posted by VB6 Programming View Post
    For those who haven't seen the twinBASIC RC6 example...

    twinBASIC RC6

    Github source code for the RC6 example

    Name:  116316624-84dc9d00-a7b2-11eb-9856-8905db6ce442.png
Views: 279
Size:  148.5 KB
    if RC6,cairo can use The visual form design function is perfect

  5. #5
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5,474

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Quote Originally Posted by xiaoyao View Post
    if RC6/cairo can use The visual form design function is perfect
    This is already built-in on the "WidgetRoot" of any hosting cWidgetForm...

    To play around with that, just set:
    Form.WidgetRoot.DesignMode = True

    Olaf

  6. #6
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    325

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Quote Originally Posted by xiaoyao View Post
    if RC6,cairo can use The visual form design function is perfect
    cWidgets.LoadFromXML -- load custom control cwShape
    Last edited by SearchingDataOnly; May 13th, 2021 at 10:21 AM.

  7. #7
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5,474

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Quote Originally Posted by baka View Post
    - can RC be used in 64bit mode? if not will it be available?
    That's actually the easier part - because I will only have to adjust for LongPtr (instead of Long) -
    and after that recompile the RC6 using tB with win64-output-target (the RC6-Project only contains *.bas and *.cls modules)

    Quote Originally Posted by baka View Post
    - Twin+RC+Cross=possible and what challenges will it have.
    For your own VB6- or tB-code?
    - there will be absolutely no changes (other than perhaps adjusting some Folder-Separator-Strings to "/" instead of "\".

    It's me, who will ensure, that the RC6 is compilable via tB (e.g. in a Linux-version), as soon as tB allows different platforms than "win" as output-target. My amount of work will be significantly reduced, because the Declares for SQLite and Cairo-libs can remain basically unchanged as they are.

    Quote Originally Posted by baka View Post
    - installation instructions
    step by step how to install RC into twinbasic
    First, I'd recommend to use the stable and "COM- and VB/VBA-bug free" VB6-IDE as the host for all RC6-related Code at the moment.
    If you use tB for your RC6-experiments, then you might get the impression (in case something doesn't work as you expect), that it might be RC6-related when it isn't... tB has still a lot of "corner-case-bugs" which need to be fixed (whereas RC6 does not have any known bugs currently).

    But tB will be able (at some point - in a few months or so), to truly support everything 1:1, as it sits in VB6 *.cls and *.bas modules.
    So, if you restrict yourself to the VB6-IDE with only *.cls and *.bas - then everything there should be portable 1:1 into tB later on.

    Here again the usual advice, regarding "proper RC6-installation":
    - download RC6BaseDlls.zip from vbRichClient.com
    - unpack it to C:\RC6\
    - now go into that Folder (and don't move any Files away from each other, leave them sitting there together, as they are)
    - if you have an OS higher than XP, then it should be sufficient, to just DblClick the two *.vbs Files for registering

    If you don't like the registering via *.vbs Files, then you can of course do the registering also manually:
    - by opening a console in admin-mode
    - and then typing: regsvr32 C:\RC6\RC6.dll (and regsvr32 C:\RC6\RC6Widgets.dll respectively)

    Now you should see two new (errorfree selectable) entries in your VB6-IDEs References-Dialog:
    - RC6
    - RC6Widgets

    Quote Originally Posted by baka View Post
    - noob projects
    a bunch of small projects that can be download to see how RC can be used together with twinbasic
    As said, please refrain for the moment, from using tB as the primary Test-platform "to learn RC6-stuff"...
    The VB6-IDE offers a far more stable development-base for that currently... (code should later be copy&pastable 1:1, when tB matures).

    Here's a new Cairo-Widgets Tutorial which I've just uploaded (it already references RC6 and not RC5)
    https://www.vbforums.com/showthread....70#post5521970

    Normally (before studying the Widget-Tutorial), you should gather a bit of experience with "Cairo-Drawing-Commands" first,
    using the Tutorial, I've uploaded here:
    https://www.vbforums.com/showthread....cs-using-Cairo

    The above still contains RC5-based Cairo-Drawing-Demos (requiring an installation of the RC5-basepackage, to work out of the box)
    But any of these Demos should be "switchable" to RC6...
    ...By changing the Project-Reference from vbRichClient5 to RC6,
    in some cases accompanied by replacing a potentially existing "fully qualified ClassName" which has a "Lib-Prefix" of the form:
    vbRichClient5.cSomeClass ... to RC6.cSomeClass ... (using the VB6 Search/Replace-Dialogue on the term [vbRichClient5.])

    HTH

    Olaf
    Last edited by Schmidt; May 13th, 2021 at 06:22 PM.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1,442

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    thx Olaf for all the information.

    as for me, I will be using RC together with twinbasic.
    it feels wrong to start using RC with VB6, and right now my current project of 3 years is too large to even think about adding RC.
    but, my next project, I will look into it and why not start with twinbasic as well. 2-in-1.

    my next project will be a game-engine editor, and game-player, so 2 projects, I want to avoid non-cross platform frameworks/API/typelibs if it will be possible in the future to make it in linux/mac.

    will start in a couple of months and will report my progress in this sections.

  9. #9
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Espaņa
    Posts
    247

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Quote Originally Posted by baka View Post
    thx Olaf for all the information.

    as for me, I will be using RC together with twinbasic.
    it feels wrong to start using RC with VB6, and right now my current project of 3 years is too large to even think about adding RC.
    but, my next project, I will look into it and why not start with twinbasic as well. 2-in-1.

    my next project will be a game-engine editor, and game-player, so 2 projects, I want to avoid non-cross platform frameworks/API/typelibs if it will be possible in the future to make it in linux/mac.

    will start in a couple of months and will report my progress in this sections.
    sounds really good.
    I would like to try it.

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1,442

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    so, if I would start using twinbasic + rc and supposedly twinbasic will not have any sound/mp3 built-in, instead I need to use api/typelibs.
    will RC in the future have sound/mp3 support?
    and if so, will it be cross-platform compatible?

  11. #11
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    325

    Re: TwinBasic + RC + cross-platform

    Deleted ...
    Last edited by SearchingDataOnly; May 28th, 2021 at 12:43 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width