Thread: [RESOLVED] Use VB6 to develop a tool similar to AstExplorer.net

Frenzied Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Use VB6 to develop a tool similar to AstExplorer.net

AstExplorer is a very convenient tool, but sometimes I need to use AstExplorer offline, that is to say, use AstExplorer on some computers that cannot connect to the Internet. So I plan to use VB6 to develop a tool similar to AstExplorer. One way is to use the traditional VB6 way, for example: the left panel is WebBrowser/WebView, the right panel is VB6.TreeView (or VB6.MyTreeView) components. Another way is to use WebView (Edge-Chromium) + Html + Js, which means that all operations are performed in WebView.

The first way is no problem for me, I just need to develop a new MyTreeView component. But now desktop components have been gradually eliminated, so I have no interest in wasting time to develop MyTreeView component. So I tend to adopt the second method, which is more Web-based. Since I have no experience in developing complex web components, I'd like to know whether the second solution is feasible, how difficult and the development workload is, is it necessary to adopt the second solution?
    (Note: I mainly hope to accumulate WebUI development experience through the second solution)

Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Edit:

The problem I want to solve is: how to run some Web-Apps containing a large number of third-party JS libraries (such as AstExplorer) in the WebView(Edge-Chromium) of VB6 and be able to interact (communicate) with VB6 code.
    (After I solve the above problems, then I will try how to combine NodeJS and Electron with VB6)

In addition, the third solution is to deploy AstExplorer locally based on the source code provided by AstExplorer github. But I don't know how to carry out this work.
    Last edited by SearchingDataOnly; May 10th, 2021 at 09:41 PM.

Hyperactive Member

Re: Use VB6 to develop a tool similar to AstExplorer.net

PowerPoster