Thread: Sorting Array

Sorting Array

Hi, I’m new to VB, and trying to sort an array.

The array populates properly within the program, but gets a 424 error when I try to sort. There are no typos.

Also, I have to use SYSTEM.ARRAY.SORT(array name) If I use just ARRAY.SORT(array name), I get a compiler error. Don’t know if that’s an issue.

Re: Sorting Array

I used this simple code and got the same error:

Code:
    Dim thisNumber(2) As Integer

thisNumber(0) = 1
    thisNumber(1) = 2
    thisNumber(2) = 3

System.Array.Sort (thisNumber)
    Last edited by dday9; Mar 23rd, 2021 at 08:26 AM. Reason: Added Code Tags

that was Integer, not Integ

Sorry

Never mind, I used ArrayList instead and all is good.

I am guessing this is VB.Net from the syntax rather than VB Script...

Firstly what error where you getting? VB.Net throws exceptions, "Error 424" doesn't really mean anything - what was the error message / exception?

Secondly, Array is a class that lives in the System namespace. If you want to use just Array.Sort then you could add an "Imports System" to the top of the file so you don't need to fully qualify the name.

Finally, unless you are using a really old version of VB.Net you probably should avoid ArrayList and use List(Of Integer) instead, the List(Of Integer) will be more type safe and will also perform a lot better.

Welcome to VBForums

I have moved this thread from the 'VBScript' forum (for .vbs files etc) to the 'VB.Net' (VB2002 and later) forum

Quote Originally Posted by TaraLee View Post
    Never mind, I used ArrayList instead and all is good.
    No, all is not good. You should basically never use an ArrayList for anything. If you want a fixed-length list of items then an array is what you should use. If you want a variable-length list then you should use a List(Of T), where T would be Integer in your example. If you're not able to call Array.Sort then your system is broken so that is not an issue that you should ignore. This code: