Thread: Help With Error: Subscript out of range

Help With Error: Subscript out of range

Hi,
    I'm no expert with VB, I've just done the odd simple program from time to time.

I have a program that's been given to me by its author, which he created some time ago, that has developed a problem.
    It used to function OK, but now when the application is run:

The program starts it process, but then stops with this popup error message:
    Error : 9
    Description : Subscript out of range
    LineNumber : 7250

I get the same message when I RUN the program via the VB Project Window.
    This popup is not the standard grey VB popup error message,
    but a bespoke error-handler, so when the error occurs, the Project Window doesn't hi-lite the part of the code that is causing the problem.

So my initial queries are:
    Q1: In a previously working app, what kinds of problems can cause the above error?
    Q2: How can I get the suspect code to be hi-lited in the the Project Window?
    Q3: Any suggestions how to proceed with this type of problem.

Many thanks.

PowerPoster

Re: Help With Error: Subscript out of range

The error message is giving you a line number so your first step should be to go to that line and see what the code is doing there.

The error message is common and basically means that your code is trying to access an array element that does not exist.

As for getting it highlighted you can try going into your options and set it to Break on All Errors.

PowerPoster

is this vb6? i have never seen a line number with that error
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part