Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No Errors

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Skunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,114

    No Errors

    Hi,

    This is extremly frustrating, I am monitoring the Error List, it's set to 'Entire Solution'.
    The error list reports no errors, no warnings, no messages and yet when I click Start, I get an error message.
    There were build errors. Would you... etc
    If there is an error why isn't it reported. How do I discover what the error is if it's not explained ?
    There is no error number with the error message.


    Poppa
    Last edited by Poppa Mintin; Feb 5th, 2021 at 11:17 AM.
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    10,484

    Re: No Errors

    Try to use the rebuild option instead of the build option, it is found under the build menu.

    Rebuild will do the following:
    1. clean, which will delete any intermediate and output files.
    2. "full" build, which will build all project files and components


    The Build option will only compile only those project files and components that have changed since the most recent build.

    What I have found is that sometimes (especially during force shutdowns of VS), build alone isn't enough.
    "Code is like humor. When you have to explain it, itís bad." - Cory House
    VbLessons | Code Tags | Sword of Fury - Jameram

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Skunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,114

    Re: No Errors

    Thanks dday9,

    The problem disappeared the next time I opened the project.
    I had tried Build before posting the thread, but not Rebuild, if it happens again I'll definitely try that, it may well happen again, this was not the first time that this has happened.


    Poppa
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  4. #4
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    239

    Re: No Errors

    Yeah, Rebuild All function recompiles entire project.
    Please dont forget to add good reputation if my advices were useful for you.
    How? Under this post there is "RATE THIS POST" button. Click on it.

  5. #5
    .NUT jmcilhinney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    107,648

    Re: No Errors

    Quote Originally Posted by VB.NET Developer View Post
    Yeah, Rebuild All function recompiles entire project.
    Solution, not project. The whole point of the "All" is that it does a rebuild on all projects in the solution.

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Skunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,114

    Re: No Errors

    Hi,

    It's happening again. I've tried dday9's solution, in fact I've tried everything under the 'Build' tab.
    Neither of the 'Code analysis' options appear to do anything, maybe there's somewhere to look up the result?

    I've also tried deleting the bin and obj folders, all to no avail. The Error List, is set to 'Entire Solution', the error list reports no errors, no warnings, no messages and yet when I click Start, I still get the error message...
    There were build errors. Would you... etc
    ...and nothing to indicate what (or even where) the error is.
    There's almost no code in either of two forms: -
    Form1 (Called 'Intro'.)
    Code:
    Public Class Intro
        Private Sub Intro_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
            Me.WindowState = FormWindowState.Maximized
            Me.FormBorderStyle = FormBorderStyle.None
        End Sub
    
        Private Sub ExitGame_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles ExitGame.Click
            Application.Exit()
        End Sub 'Exit Game.
    
        Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            Me.Hide()
            CardTable.Show()
        End Sub
    End Class
    Form2. (Called 'CardTable.)
    Code:
    Public Class CardTable
    
        Private Sub CardTable_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
            Me.WindowState = FormWindowState.Maximized
            Me.FormBorderStyle = FormBorderStyle.None
        End Sub
    
        Private Sub ExitGame_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles ExitGame.Click
            Application.Exit()
        End Sub 'Exit Game.
    
    End Class
    So... I'm stuck again.


    Poppa
    Last edited by Poppa Mintin; Sep 16th, 2021 at 07:13 AM. Reason: Code added
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    10,484

    Re: No Errors

    One place I would check is that you have renamed your forms properly. From the solution explorer, select the file for Intro, and then hit F4 to bring up the properties (it may already be open). Check that the filename is Intro.vb, the Form's name property is Intro, and the Form definition is Intro. If one (or more) of these three is not Intro, then change it. Then do the same thing for CardTable.
    "Code is like humor. When you have to explain it, itís bad." - Cory House
    VbLessons | Code Tags | Sword of Fury - Jameram

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Skunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,114

    Re: No Errors

    Thanks dday9,

    Yes, you're right, 'InfoForm.vb' was changed from the default 'Form1.vb' but in solution explorer it was still 'Form1.vb'.

    The form 'CardTable' was named that when I added it to the project, so that one was ok.


    It's annoying that this error isn't reported.


    Poppa
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator dday9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Louisiana
    Posts
    10,484

    Re: No Errors

    What I do when I rename forms is select the file in the solution explorer, hit F2, and then rename it from there. By doing it like this Visual Studio will ask if you want to rename any instance of the old name to the new name.
    "Code is like humor. When you have to explain it, itís bad." - Cory House
    VbLessons | Code Tags | Sword of Fury - Jameram

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Poppa Mintin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Skunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, England.
    Posts
    2,114

    Re: No Errors

    Thanks dday9, I'll add that to my snippets.


    Poppa
    Along with the sunshine there has to be a little rain sometime.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width