Thread: Help with IO.DirectoryInfo

Help with IO.DirectoryInfo

I'm new to VB.net and tasked with moving an older web application to a new server. Among other functions, this application looks for PDFs in a folder using IO.DirectoryInfo. When I run the application within Visual Studio, it works with no error. But when I publish the site to IIS v10 on a network server, the following code returns the following error:

Dim di As New IO.DirectoryInfo("\\Pdf-server\Pdfs\New")

produces error (not sure why the error message strips the slashes '\'):

Source: mscorlib Exception: Access to the path \Pdf-serverPdsNew is denied.

The folder's permissions and sharing are open to this account & folder's read-only is turned off. Any idea what's happening here?

Re: Help with IO.DirectoryInfo

sorry, error message is:

Source: mscorlib Exception: Access to the path \Pdf-serverPdfsNew is denied.

The folder's permissions and sharing are open to this account
    Are you sure about that? Have you verified the account it's running under?

-tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

Quote Originally Posted by techgnome View Post
    Are you sure about that? Have you verified the account it's running under?

-tg