Thread: [RESOLVED] Help with best practice for loading data

Hyperactive Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Help with best practice for loading data

Hello!

I am new to VB.NET... trying to convert all my VB6 programs and am trying to update them in the process.

I have a program that is mostly used as an interface to our main accounting system. It pulls data to view and create reports. I have a couple combo boxes that need to populate from the database for selection in the program. My thought is to somehow pull the information in at the start of the program and keep it in a table somewhere so I can just load the comboboxes from the stored data. It doesn't need to be real time, as the lists will not change much.

Currently, I am accessing the DB directly when the form loads to populate the combo box. The database is "in the cloud"... just trying to make it run faster.... is a little slow when accessing the database.

Attached is an image of what I tried to create with the data that I need for two of the comboboxes... I am not certain how to use them or if this is even the correct route.

If you could steer me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.

Name:  DataTables.JPG
Views: 1032
Size:  25.7 KB

Thank you in advance!
    Chrissy

Re: Help with best practice for loading data

Since they are essentially static lookup tables, what I would do is create a strongly typed object to represent the table and then store a collection of those objects in the My namespace during your application start.

For example, the classes would look like this (you'll likely need to update the data types):
    Code:
    Public Class Owner
        Public Property ucode As String
        Public Property ulastname As String
    End Class

Public Class PtrCode
        Public Property HMY As String
        Public Property SCODE As String
        Public Property SDESC As String
        Public Property RPT_COLUMN As String
        Public Property IMPACT As String
    End Class