Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    558

    Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Hey guys. Bit of a long shot here... but is there any way to have VB6 dial a phone number?

    So I've got Mr. Smith at 555-555-1212 and I want to call him.

    About the only thing I can think of is using an old school modem and an analogue phone line.

    It would be a lot better to either use some kind of VOIP service, an on-line service or control an Android phone.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    1,487

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    There is a recent entry in our Codebank
    https://www.vbforums.com/showthread....1-or-per-batch
    It allows us to use VB6 and (https://www.fjsoft.at/en/downloads.php) to send SMS
    The linked download's site, says their product does much more than SMS.
    There is a chance you could use it to control your Android phone, to make calls

  3. #3
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    7,219

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkbob View Post
    ...is there any way to have VB6 dial a phone number?

    So I've got Mr. Smith at 555-555-1212 and I want to call him.
    If it has to work wireless, you could always turn the Volume of your PCs Loudspeakers up,
    and then use the MS Text-to-Speech API COM-Object, letting it read the following String:
    "Ok Google, please call Mr. Smith..."


    On a more serious note, WLAN based remote-triggering of Android-Phone-calls could be done "indirectly",
    by first loading (from your Android-device) a WebPage which is served from behind your "LAN-Desktop-IP"
    (e.g. from within your running VB6-App, in case it started an App-internal little WebServer from a COM-Class).

    The Android-(Browser)App could then poll (any 2 seconds or so via Ajax-requests),
    for "the next number to call", which you could provide as the result of these polling Ajax-requests.

    Once such a "new number" was received in the Android-Browser (differing from an empty string), the little WebPage only needs:
    - a javascript-call with a "tel: url" like e.g.: window.open("tel:5555551212")
    The above window.open(...) command would then start calling that Number from your Android-device.

    Olaf

  4. #4
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    596

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    You can do it with the code I posted : https://www.vbforums.com/showthread....1-or-per-batch

    Just modify the class to manage it.

    In fact I never had to do it, but I'll modify my class to manage that

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    558

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobbles View Post
    There is a recent entry in our Codebank
    https://www.vbforums.com/showthread....1-or-per-batch
    It allows us to use VB6 and (https://www.fjsoft.at/en/downloads.php) to send SMS
    The linked download's site, says their product does much more than SMS.
    There is a chance you could use it to control your Android phone, to make calls
    This looks really promising! Thanks!!

  6. #6
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    596

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    I took a look this morning and did some test, but haven't successfully dialed a number.
    And no more time to investigate this WE
    But you could install everything and do the tests, to dial from MyPhoneExplorer
    If it can, so it could be added to the class

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    558

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Quote Originally Posted by Thierry69 View Post
    I took a look this morning and did some test, but haven't successfully dialed a number.
    And no more time to investigate this WE
    But you could install everything and do the tests, to dial from MyPhoneExplorer
    If it can, so it could be added to the class
    Ah. That's too bad. Past my skill level I'm afraid. But thanks very much for looking. Much appreciated.

  8. #8
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    460

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    you can do this with the android debug bridge (adb) and an android device

    $ adb -s <serialno> shell am start -a android.intent.action.CALL -d tel:555-5555

  9. #9
    Frenzied Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    1,487

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Just came across this -
    https://www.howtogeek.com/700733/how...our-phone-app/
    Appears to allow W10 user to make calls on Android phone (ver 7 up)

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    558

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Lots of great ideas. In the end I wasn't able to dial a phone. HOWEVER there is a super simple alternative. You can set up Skype (desktop version) on Windows then in your VB program you can use Shell Execute to bring up the Skype dialer. It works reasonably well for my needs.

    Apparently you can just issue a command "Skype: <phone number>" and Windows knows what to do. I wonder how you assign any old program that way.. so for example ViewPhoto: image.jpg But I don't know how to do that.

    Anyway here's a simple example:

    Code:
       ' start the number with your country code (ie 1 for North America),don't include spaces or any special characters
       PhoneNumber$ = "15551235555"
       cmd$ = "Skype: " & PhoneNumber$
       a = ShellExecute(hWnd, "open", cmd$, 0, vbNullString, SW_SHOW)
    Last edited by Darkbob; Nov 30th, 2020 at 09:05 PM.

  11. #11
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    42.787034,-81.176367
    Posts
    130

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    I was going to suggest the use of the Skype Automation Server
    Code:
    Set oSkype = CreateObject("Skype4COM.Skype","Skype_)"
    but it appears this only works with the Skype Desktop app, not the Skype UWP App available for download from the windows store.

    Joe

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    558

    Re: Using VB6 to dial an Android phone

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Caverly View Post
    I was going to suggest the use of the Skype Automation Server
    Code:
    Set oSkype = CreateObject("Skype4COM.Skype","Skype_)"
    but it appears this only works with the Skype Desktop app, not the Skype UWP App available for download from the windows store.

    Joe
    The Desktop version is fine for my use. "Skype: 15555555555" is fine for what I need.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width