Thread: Testing SQL database

Addicted Member

Testing SQL database

Hi, I use to work with a access database, but i would like to use a SQL database for my project. I have no experience with SQL and have som questions about this.

Checked mySQL, but the setup of this is not clear to me.
    Working in C#.

Does anyone have tips or links that could be helpfull for someone without prior knowledge of SQL?
    Is there a way that i can set up a SQL test database just to find out how this works?

Re: Testing SQL database

Firstly, it's important to understand what SQL is and is not. If you used Access then you were already using SQL, because SQL is the language that pretty much all databases use to manipulate data in queries. Other database systems use SQL for the same purpose, including SQL Server, MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL and others. The term "SQL database" is basically meaningless. Unfortunately, many people use the term lazily when they actually mean SQL Server, so you can't tell whether it actually means SQL server or something else. Are you actually talking about SQL Server or MySQL or something else? You should work it out and then always use the proper name to avoid confusion.

Addicted Member

Thank you for the information. I actually knew that most Databases use SQL, but did not realise that it was wrong / unclear to formulate my question like i did. I want it to be accessble from several locations so i asume i need more like SQL server.