Thread: Which type of container to use?

Which type of container to use?

Hello all,

I am a newbie and trying my hand at creating an application to read in data from a text file and then drawing to a picturebox (my Canvas). The data represents a Printed Circuit Board.

My question is what type of container should I use to store the data that is read in from the text file. I have had suggestions of "Dictionary", "List", and I am somewhat familiar with "Arrays" and "Tables" from past experience limited as it may be and from decades ago. I want the application to be as fast as possible and have been told that a very large array can be slower than a Dictionary or List. The data to be read in can contain just a few items or thousands, it all depends on the PCB.

I hope I have explained what I want to do and my terminology is correct, if not, please forgive me and ask for clarification.

I know this is a huge task but I like programming and need a task to keep me occupied.

So far, with the help of some of you, I have created a Windows Form Application and I can read in the text file and place the contents in a textbox. Now I need to be able to parse thru the file and draw what it represents on the screen

Thanks

Dave

Re: Which type of container to use?

Perhaps if you could explain what the data actually is and how it's stored, we might be able to work out the best way to store it. There isn't just one best way for all data. It depends what the data is and exactly what you want to do with it. A Dictionary will be faster than an array if you want perform key-based lookups but you've given no indication of whether you do or not, so how could we advise?

Here is a sample of the data, this is a very simple example, it Draws 2 Rectangles and is only meant to show the format of the data.

Code:
    %FSLAX26Y26*%                 FS(format specification)L(Leading zeros omitted)A(Absolute coordinates) X26(X is 00.000000)Y26(00.000000)