Thread: Excel VBA Macro to start a local video in fullscreen mode using a shortcut

Post Excel VBA Macro to start a local video in fullscreen mode using a shortcut

I am a novice to Excel VBA code but this is what I've learned / done so far. The code below is a module initiated in Excel by a key shortcut. Ctrl Shift T. It runs the video within the worksheet as required, but with a small screen. I'd like to add to the code to launch the video full screen and when finished close the Windows Media Player and return to the same point in the worksheet. I wonder if anyone knows how to do this please?

Sub Title_Vid1()
    Dim WMP As Object

Set WMP = CreateObject("new:{6BF52A52-394A-11d3-B153-00C04F79FAA6}")

WMP.openPlayer "C:\Users\User1\Teenage_Dream.mp4"

End Sub

PowerPoster

Re: Excel VBA Macro to start a local video in fullscreen mode using a shortcut

you can try
    Code:
    WMP.fullscreen = True
    i could not test as i did not have any media files on this computer, fullscreen only works while the player is playing

i did not find any method to quit the wmp application
    i do my best to test code works before i post it, but sometimes am unable to do so for some reason, and usually say so if this is the case.
    Note code snippets posted are just that and do not include error handling that is required in real world applications, but avoid On Error Resume Next

dim all variables as required as often i have done so elsewhere in my code but only posted the relevant part

come back and mark your original post as resolved if your problem is fixed
    pete

Thank you Pete for your kind help. I had already tried that and got the following error:

Method 'fullscreen' of object 'IWMPPlayer4' failed

Also:
    WMPfullScreen = True

ie no fullstop, gives the same error. Wonder if you have any further ideas please.

Post Re: Excel VBA Macro to start a local video in fullscreen mode using a shortcut

Quote Originally Posted by jdc2000 View Post