Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need 2 decimal places

Arrow need 2 decimal places

I have a program that calculates cubic inch requirements for choosing an electrical box size based on entries on my box sizing form. Problem is the form calculates but does not go to 2 decimal places which will cause an improper cubic capacity to select a box. I am a novice in VB6

here is the code snippet from my program:

If Combo6.Text = "12" Then
    Txte = 2.25 * Txthm.Text
    Txtsize(7).Text = Txte
    Txttotcubic.Text = 2.25 * (X + b + c + d) + (Txtsize(7).Text) + txtf + txtG + txth + txti

the values entered are:
    (Txtsize(7).Text) = 4.5
    txtf = 4
    txth =2.25
    txti = 0.5

Txttotcubic.Text = 11. (it should be 11.25)

when put a watch on the code, I get out context for the Txttotcubic.Text. I have Dim totcubic As Double

Any idea on how to get the full answer to 2 decimal places ?

Re: need 2 decimal places

Thinking that Txttotcubic is probably returning the right result.

You mention that Txtsize(7).Text contains 4.5, but in your code just before the formula, you overwrite it with: 2.25 * Txthm.Text

You also didn't mention what the other variables contain: X, b, c, d, txtG, Txthm.Text or what variable type you declared any of the non-textbox variables.

And finally, you said, "I have Dim totcubic As Double". Well that variable isn't even used in the formula your provided.

Bottom line, we can't confirm or deny that Txttotcubic is returning the correct value or truncating the decimal portion. Just not enough info
    Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"

Classics Enthusiast? Here's my 1969 Mustang Mach I Fastback. Her sister '67 Coupe has been adopted

Newbie? Novice? Bored? Spend a few minutes browsing the FAQ section of the forum.
    Read the HitchHiker's Guide to Getting Help on the Forums.
    Here is the list of TAGs you can use to format your posts
    Here are VB6 Help Files online