Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: [RESOLVED] VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Resolved [RESOLVED] VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    Does anyone know off hand if the VS2019 community edition still supports the COM aware feature for a class library?
    I cant seem to find it anywhere in the properties. Was this killed off completely or maybe only available in higher paid
    for editions?

    Trying to upgrade an old component I had built with .NET 3, now that runtime wont even install on Win10 for some
    reason.

  2. #2
    Frenzied Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    1,735

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    Dot Net 3.5 should still install on Windows 10.

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    I dunno I tried on multiple machines gave me some obtuse error code only.
    I even downloaded the offline installer for it, it went through some garbage about having to download updates
    and then failed again. Googling the error led to nothing helpful. Reboot and try again they said. I have spent
    hours playing with it.

  4. #4
    Frenzied Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    1,735

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?


  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    thats what i tried, tried again same result, If its not installed by default I dont want to ask anyone else to download 230mb and wait and maybe it works if the moons align. better off to upgrade my code to 4.x or better yet avoid .net all together.

  6. #6
    Frenzied Member jdc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
    Posts
    1,735

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    I have .NET 3.5 installed on some of my Windows 10 computers because I need .NET 2.0 for an old application. I did not have any issues installing it. However, with Windows 10, you never know. What Windows 10 Version/Build are having the issue with?

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    my work pc is win10 enterprise 10.0.19041 and my personal desktop is win 10 home 10.0.18362.
    I have one other PC i tried it on around new years another enterprise. all had the same problem
    working with that runtime is just a non starter at this point for me.

  8. #8
    Frenzied Member PlausiblyDamp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Newport, UK
    Posts
    1,282

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dz32 View Post
    thats what i tried, tried again same result, If its not installed by default I dont want to ask anyone else to download 230mb and wait and maybe it works if the moons align. better off to upgrade my code to 4.x or better yet avoid .net all together.
    .Net 3.5 is included with Windows 10, it can be installed through Control Panel -> Programs and Features -> Turn Windows Features On or Off

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    that was the first thing i tried

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    anyway back on topic..does VS2019 still support COM aware setting in any version or have they completely abandoned it.

  11. #11
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    163

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    Quote Originally Posted by dz32 View Post
    anyway back on topic..does VS2019 still support COM aware setting in any version or have they completely abandoned it.
    Yes, it supports. I've created recently some COM libraries targeting .NET Framework 3.5, 4.0, 4.5, 4.6.1, 4.8 - all used in different setups from Win XP/Server 2003 (still used somewhere in production) to Win 10 and 2016/2019 Server.

    If you can't install .NET Framework 3.5 using Control Panel, then you have some other problem with your systems. Do normal Windows 10 updates run fine?

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    thank you for the confirmation.

    I have now tried to install it on 4 different win10 machines, 3 of which are fresh OS installs with no system tweaks. Both from the control panel add features , the offline installer and web installer. It only worked on one, a vm installed last month. All the others i get error 0x800F0954

    The learn more link points here:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...81f-0x800f0907

    My error code is not listed, the dism.log mentioned does not contain my error code anywhere and didnt see anything relevant in the log
    that looks any different than the other days in it.
    Last edited by dz32; Aug 28th, 2020 at 07:40 AM.

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    390

    Re: VS2019 Community edition COM Aware setting ?

    this fixed it for me:
    https://www.winhelponline.com/blog/e...-feature-dism/

    I created the reg key:
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU
    UseWUServer=0
    rebooted then ran the following from an admin 64bit cmd window

    Code:
    DISM /Online /Enable-Feature /FeatureName:NetFx3 /All
    On two of the machines, I had hosed with trying different stuff to disable windefender
    My corporate machine I didnt, but it is in a domain.

    On the corporate machine UseWUServer key already existed and was set to 1. DISM command line would not work
    same error. I reset the regkey to 0, rebooted...machine hung at getting ready, after 10 min I just forced a shutdown. Then I could run
    the DISM command line again and now it worked.

    Windows has stuff incestuously intertwined. Not a fan.
    Last edited by dz32; Aug 28th, 2020 at 07:39 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width