Thread: [RESOLVED] Dependency injection - some explanation

Fanatic Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] Dependency injection - some explanation

I'm allways confused about term "dependency injection".

Let's take a look at these two examples:

1.) Constructor injection
    Code:
    public class SomeClass
    {
          private readonly Class1 class1;

public SomeClass(Class1 _class1)
          {
              class1=_class1;

//....
           }

}
    2.) initializing instance in constructor

Code:
    public class SomeClass
    {
          private readonly Class1 class1;

public SomeClass()
          {
              class1= new Class1();

//....
           }

}
    Now I'm wondering:

- why is example 1.) considered to be a dependency injection and example 2.) not ?

- what are differencies between them ?

- what are pros/cons of using each?

I'm hoping for a simple answer, since I'm a newbie in WPF. Thanks in advance

Re: Dependency injection - some explanation

In both cases the SomeClass object is dependant on an instance of Class1, in the second case it is hard coded to use a specific instance of Class1 while in the first case you are going to provide an instance at runtime - you are injecting this dependency.

Your scenario doesn't really make much sense however as in both cases you are probably dealing with exactly the same Class1 instance, Dependency Injection is normally used when you want to pass in a different thing at runtime - it heavily relies on the concept of Polymorphism.

A better example might be a situation that uses an interface or similar e.g.

Code:
    public class DataStuff //ignore low quality name 
    {
    private IDbConnection _connection;

public DataStuff(IDbConnection connection)
    {
        _connection = connection;
    }

public void Dummy()
    {
     _connection.Open();
     IDbCommand command = connection.CreateCommand();
    command.CommandText = "SELECT @@version";
    return (string)command.ExecuteScalar();
    }
    }