Thread: [RESOLVED] Trying to Figure Out How to Communicate with a C DLL

Resolved [RESOLVED] Trying to Figure Out How to Communicate with a C DLL

I've been writing code in C and C++ for many years (since the 80s), but I have little experience with VB. For the past few years I've been maintaining a suite of programs most written in C back in the late 80s with a VB6 program written in the early 90s. The programs were updated for Windows 95 and again around 2006, but are essentially the same at their core.

The VB program has been communicating with the C programs via DDE and the C programs communicate with one another with Windows messages and a DLL with a block of shared memory.

I've been working on a new way to communicate between the VB6 program and the C programs but VB6 is a lot harder to debug than C. I created a logging function in the DLL to see if things are getting called and if the arguments are getting passed correctly (I can't figure out how to step into a DLL like you can when debugging C/C++).

All apps that use the DLL need to call an init call when the program is initializing. From the log I can see the initialization call is happening. However the call that is supposed to transfer data via the DLL is getting weird data.

The function has three arguments, and integer which is supposed to be between 1 and 10, a string pointer, and another integer. The first integer is 3, and the last is 0. But the log shows the first integer as 12517379. The last argument is 0. The string also comes through as three garbage characters: T{¿

There is obviously something off with string, but the integer came through weird too. I converted it to hex and it's: BF0003(H) which might be a valid memory address, but doesn't look typical. Addresses are usually at least divisible by 2, and usually some higher power of 2 (8, 16, or 32).