Thread: [RESOLVED] How can I migrate my vb 6 program to vb 2017?

Lively Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] How can I migrate my vb 6 program to vb 2017?

I have a large VB 6 project that I have been writing for six years. It is running in vb 6 on XP.

I would like to convert it to run in VB 2017 on Win 10.

I would like to do some sort of conversion to get my forms and code into vb 2017 so I can start the manual process of making them compatible.

I have opened vb 2017 and used "open file" to load all the vb 6 forms

and am faced with a "select startup item" that I can't get past.

frmMain.frm doesn't work.

What would be a good course of action?

Re: How can I migrate my vb 6 program to vb 2017?

There is no good course of action.

Back in the earlier days of VB.NET, up through VS2008, there was a conversion tool that did a pretty poor job of converting VB6 into VB.NET. Some people actually found it to work well. They may have been insane in other ways, as well. Most people found the conversion to be really bad, and MS subsequently dropped the tool. There is no other good alternative that I am aware of. The two languages are sufficiently different that a good conversion is very unlikely.

That leaves you with a bit of a dilemma, because your choices are realistically these two:

1) Stick with VB6 for that project.

2) Convert it by hand.

That latter option may sound horrible, and it could be if the project is really that big. I've converted over smaller programs, and found that the conversion is pretty quick. FAR quicker than writing it the first time around, but not insignificant, etiher. Most methods would copy over directly, with the only changes being that some types would have to change, most notably the Long in VB6 is now the Integer in .NET, and the Long in .NET is a 64-bit integer, which is almost never needed and comes at a very slight performance cost.