Thread: Starting Web development

Addicted Member

Starting Web development

I am an experienced desktop programmer, I have a basic understanding of HTML/CSS and JavaScript.

I want to start Web application development with the mobile and desktop in mind, please give me 1,2,3 guide on how to start up and running as I have hard times with the overwhelming amount of libraries, technologies and competitions around us now.

I really am confused and need to make up my mind and make it right!

Re: Starting Web development

If your idea is to create mobile apps using HTML, CSS and JS, then try googling for Cordova or maybe PhoneGap.

If you are only interested in web-development, then HTML, CSS and JS would be for the frontend.
    So, learning a serverside language would be good (say for example, PHP, ASP.Net, etc.). Or if you are not interested to learn such server-side languages, you could even try NodeJS, which actually uses Javascript.

For the front-end, a framework like Bootstrap, Angular JS, etc. will help you.

What I use (mostly) is:

- Bootstrap Framework for frontend
    - jQuery library (cross-platform javascript library)
    - PHP for the server-side
    - MySQL for database

Do some googling on these terms I mentioned, and you will get more idea.

For simple basic tutorials, try W3Schools website.

Hope this will get you started.

If my post was helpful to you, then express your gratitude using Rate this Post.
    And if your problem is SOLVED, then please Mark the Thread as RESOLVED (see it in action - video)
    My system: AMD FX 6100, Gigabyte Motherboard, 8 GB Crossair Vengance, Cooler Master 450W Thunder PSU, 1.4 TB HDD, 18.5" TFT(Wide), Antec V1 Cabinet

Social Group: VBForums - Developers from India

Skills: PHP, MySQL, jQuery, VB.Net, Photoshop, CodeIgniter, Bootstrap,...

I migrated all my clients from VB6 and .Net Winforms to a rich internet application.