Thread: [RESOLVED] WPF Having Trouble with binding a Datagrid control on load.

Lively Member

Resolved [RESOLVED] WPF Having Trouble with binding a Datagrid control on load.

Good day,

I am very new to programming. There are hundreds of forum posts and articles on how to bind a datagrid and I am trying my damnedest to mimic them but it is not working for me.

I am just making a To Do List as practice to help me learn .NET. I have a database table called "Tasks" that I want to load any records assigned to the user(There is only 1 record for testing it right now).

In my ViewModel code, I have a subroutine that queries the database and loads it into a list(of task)

Code:
    Public Class TaskViewModel

Public Property GridView As List(Of Task)

Public Sub New()

End Sub

Public Sub CallTaskData(username As String)

Dim taskData As New Task
            Dim db As New ProjectContext
            GridView = (From t In db.Tasks Where t.AssignedTo = username Select t).ToList

End Sub

End Class
    Here is my WPF Code where I want to bind the datagrid control to my GridView property in my TaskViewModel class.
    Code:
    x:Class="MainWindow"
            xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
            xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
            xmlns:d="http://schemas.microsoft.com/expression/blend/2008"
            xmlns:mc="http://schemas.openxmlformats.org/markup-compatibility/2006"
            xmlns:local="clr-namespace:ProjectManagement"
            mc:Ignorable="d"
            Title="Tasks" Height="350" Width="525" Loaded="Window_Loaded">
        <Window.DataContext>
            <local:TaskViewModel/>
        </Window.DataContext>
        <Grid>
            <DataGrid x:Name="dgTasks" ItemsSource="{Binding GridView}" AutoGenerateColumns="True" HorizontalAlignment="Left" Height="150" Margin="160,40,0,0" VerticalAlignment="Top" Width="347" >
            </DataGrid>

</Grid>
    </Window>