Thread: Using CSV file format when saving/opening with DataGridView

Lively Member

Using CSV file format when saving/opening with DataGridView

Hello, I am developing a piece of software that utilizes the DataGridView feature in Visual Studio. I do not set any of the columns up in code but in the designer. I have never done this before and no idea where to begin with how to save the data in the correct order, correct order in columns and rows it was in before, and have it open that file and have it all in the correct order. I was wondering if anyone could explain this to me. Thanks if you can!

Re: Using CSV file format when saving/opening with DataGridView

Ok, so what is the CSV part about?

The reason I ask is that there is a much easier way to do this if you aren't tied to CSV. Datatables have WriteXML/ReadXML methods, which will create a text file, but it will be XML format rather than CSCV. A datatable can also be the datasource for a DataGridView. In fact, the datatable would be the easiest way to hold data shown in a DGV.

So, to put it all together, you could create a datatable and add columns to it. This datatable would then be set as the datasource for the DGV, such that any records added/edited/deleted in the DGV would actually be recorded in the datatable. Setting the datatable as the datasource of the DGV would take one line. The datatable could then be saved/loaded to/from a text file (in XML format) with only a single line.

It doesn't get easier than that, but then again, that description doesn't perfectly match what you described, which is why I asked about the CSV. If you can flex a bit, you can get close to what you want with great ease, but if you do require CSV, then it gets a bit more complicated.
    My usual boring signature: Nothing

Lively Member