Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345
Results 161 to 175 of 175

Thread: Program Testers

  1. #161

  2. #162

  3. #163

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    UPDATED

    DOWNLOADS

    - SoftPedia ZIP (may take some days to be updated)
    - ZIP


    Update 0.3.3180 (11-Nov-2020)
    [Modules]
    - NEW: FakeHDR2: Completely New algorithm.
    - NEW: Resize2X_3; ResizeHALF3: Resize 2X and HALF for 3 channels.
    - Size2X; SizeHalf: Added new algorithm and options.
    - FlowPaint; FlowPaint3: Small performance improvement.
    - LocalNorm: Slight improvement.
    - xBiro: Completely New algorithm.
    [Other]
    - Small Fix: Correctrly show Show App Path on Update messages.
    - Small Fix: Custom MsgBox Height.
    - Nicer Modules tooltip.
    - Small graphic embellishment of the module currently being processed.
    - Changed Watermark text.
    - vbRichClient: Newest Version 6.0.0.1 (RC6)
    NOTE: This automatic update may fail. Do it manually: Extract the ZIP

  4. #164
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5,422

    Re: Program Testers

    Quote Originally Posted by reexre View Post
    UPDATED
    - vbRichClient: Newest Version 6.0.0.1 (RC6)
    Ah, good to know that the change to RC6 was (apparently) not causing any issues in your (in the meantime) quite large Project.

    As written in the "Version-log", in the new version I've completely changed the underlying "cairo-flat-library" compiling their newest sources.

    This brought indeed a speed-up, especially in "Polygon-Filling" and "PixelSurface-based blending-ops" -
    (I've measured about 30-40% speed-improvements there).

    But what was also changed (underneath the COM-wrapper-methods) was especially the Font-Rendering -
    (which I've now completely left to cairo again, whereas in the RC5-wrapper I had to resort to using the Windows-GDI, to finally render the Glyphs in good quality).

    So, if there's a chance for "different, potentially surprising behaviour" in the new RC6 - it would be the Font-Rendering you should "keep an eye on".
    (I've tested this of course in a few Widget-based Apps of mine, but yours is currently one of the largest of this kind out there, I guess).

    At this occasion, your recent algo- and effect-additions (BarbieDoll, Painter, StipplingV2 & Co.) are fantastic.

    Olaf

  5. #165

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    Quote Originally Posted by Schmidt View Post
    Ah, good to know that the change to RC6 was (apparently) not causing any issues in your (in the meantime) quite large Project.

    As written in the "Version-log", in the new version I've completely changed the underlying "cairo-flat-library" compiling their newest sources.

    This brought indeed a speed-up, especially in "Polygon-Filling" and "PixelSurface-based blending-ops" -
    (I've measured about 30-40% speed-improvements there).

    But what was also changed (underneath the COM-wrapper-methods) was especially the Font-Rendering -
    (which I've now completely left to cairo again, whereas in the RC5-wrapper I had to resort to using the Windows-GDI, to finally render the Glyphs in good quality).

    So, if there's a chance for "different, potentially surprising behaviour" in the new RC6 - it would be the Font-Rendering you should "keep an eye on".
    (I've tested this of course in a few Widget-based Apps of mine, but yours is currently one of the largest of this kind out there, I guess).

    At this occasion, your recent algo- and effect-additions (BarbieDoll, Painter, StipplingV2 & Co.) are fantastic.

    Olaf
    Hi,
    Yes, I had no problems upgrading to the RC6 version.

    Speaking of font rendering, everything seems fine to me.

    I take this opportunity to point out an anomaly that I had noticed in RC5 (and which at the moment I don't know has changed in RC6) regarding the rendering of tooltips.
    I don't know how to explain it, but sometimes, (When VbCrLf characters are present) some lines at the bottom were missing.
    And to remedy this, I added some space characters to the end of the text lines.

    Getting compliments from you always flatters me. Thanks!

    By the way I find this program very original and functional.
    The possibility of "connecting" the various modules with a few clicks to your liking (plus the setting of the parameters of it) to achieve a customized effect I think is really a great thing.
    But I didn't find much enthusiasm (in terms of numbers) from users.
    I don't know if because I didn't do any promotion, or for some other reason, such as:
    - Complicated interface (I tried to simplify it and reduce it to the bone)
    - Difficulty in learning the operations that the various modules (now more than 260) carry out. (which in fact requires a non-trivial learning curve especially for newbies)
    - Or some other reason.

    However I am proud of this program, which over time (Absolutely not full time, but rather sporadically; in fits and starts) I have implemented and improved in quality and functions.

    I'll keep an eye on Font-Rendering.

  6. #166

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    @Olaf

    BTW
    I updated this project (with RC6) which do an intensive use of Polygons ( PolygonSingle )

    to run it fast as it can, turn on the TURBO checkbox

    ( It seems faster, but not sure though )


  7. #167
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5,422

    Re: Program Testers

    Quote Originally Posted by reexre View Post
    I updated this project (with RC6) which do an intensive use of Polygons ( PolygonSingle )

    to run it fast as it can, turn on the TURBO checkbox

    ( It seems faster, but not sure though )
    What's faster IMO "without doing anything" is the Blending-ops (CC.RenderSurfaceContent).

    And what can be made faster now (manually) is the typical "Fill and then Stroke" sequence (on a Polygon-Path):

    Code:
      m.CC.SetSourceColor Obj.Color, 1, Refl
      m.CC.AntiAlias = CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_NONE: m.CC.Fill True
          
      m.CC.SetSourceColor vbBlack
      m.CC.AntiAlias = CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_FAST: m.CC.Stroke
    The above snippet is out of my new c3Dxxx supporting Classes, which I will integrate into the next RC6-release.

    Normally, the CC.Antialias-Prop is sitting at CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_DEFAULT ...
    (which in the RC6 version ensures a slightly better looking AntiAliasing, without loosing speed).

    What's new is the enum-value CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_FAST (which looks nearly as good as the old RC5-CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_DEFAULT).

    Further speedup comes from the little trick on the Fill-instructions (no Antialiasing, but that was available in RC5 as well).

    In my 3D rendering tests (3000 Polygons or so), I see about:
    - 15 FPS (when not touching CC.Antialias at all, leaving it at the Default)
    - 25 FPS (with a "global" setting of CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_FAST - for both - Filling and Stroking)
    - 36 FPS (with the little trick, which does the filling with no antialiasing, and the stroking with CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_FAST)

    Just to give you some rough idea of the speed-ratios over the different modes.

    HTH

    Olaf

  8. #168

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    @Olaf Thank you! Good to know!

    I tested on CAIRO_ANTIALIAS_FAST on PhotoModularFX (Drawing Interface [Nodes and connections]) and it's faster and keeping good quality.
    Next update will have this improvement


    Quote Originally Posted by Schmidt View Post
    The above snippet is out of my new c3Dxxx supporting Classes, which I will integrate into the next RC6-release.
    Wow something 3D is coming! ...

  9. #169

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    UPDATED

    DOWNLOADS

    - SoftPedia ZIP (may take some days to be updated)
    - ZIP


    Update 0.3.3265 (09-feb-2021)
    [Modules]
    - FlowPaint; FlowPaint3: Default and 'Spiky' Algorithms performance improvement.
    - HUE-Harm: Minimal Revision.
    - SmoothMM: From Quadratic to Cubic polynomial Smooth.
    - NOISE; NOISER: High performance improvements.
    - DCT; IDCT: Some performance improvements.
    - MIX4: Bug fix on SUM.
    - Yxy2RGB: Bug Fix.
    [Other]
    - Select and Move a Group of Modules at once. (by holding shift)
    - Basis for Managing Modules-Groups.
    - Bugs Fix.

  10. #170

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    @Olaf
    Hi Olaf, I hope you see this post and can help me solve the problem.
    ABOUT FONTS
    So, I'm using RC6.0.0.4, and I've noticed a problem with Fonts appearing "blurry" .
    This is regardless of Antialias settings or anything else (as far as I can tell).
    Description:
    I have custom widgets that are destroyed/created at the moment on top of another "Container" widget
    Code:
    CNTRL() as Object
    Set CNTRL(I) = W.Widgets.Add(New cwCustomWidget .....
    When Zoom is 100% no problem. Otherwise, sometimes the fonts appear blurry.
    The strange thing is this:
    The container widget is movable. If I move it with the mouse and release it, it happens that in some positions of the screen the Fonts are OK, while in other positions they appear blurred. (same Zoom)
    This is a bizarre behavior that I can't explain.
    To verify
    -download the program,
    https://miorsoft.github.io/Site/Phot...rFX/index.html
    -select a project that has a node with parameters,
    -select that node,
    -CNTRL-rotate to zoom in and move the parameter container to different positions on the screen.

    you will notice that if at a certain zoom value the fonts of the widgets inside the container widget appear blurred, by moving the container widget on some places of the screen the fonts will no longer appear blurred.

  11. #171
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5,422

    Re: Program Testers

    Quote Originally Posted by reexre View Post
    it happens that in some positions of the screen the Fonts are OK,
    while in other positions they appear blurred. (same Zoom)
    I know what caused this (since I've made some changes recently with regards to more precise Widget-Positioning with higher ZoomFactors) - but apparently failed to notice the negative side-effect this had with Font-Outputs (on my High-DPI-Display, Text is always sharp, no matter what)...

    Will try to find a compromise in upcoming version 6.0.7 -
    so that Font-Output remains sharp, regardless of the current Zoomfactor.

    Olaf

  12. #172

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    yes, on a high resolution screen it is not very noticeable and annoying.
    Anyway here is an example image:
    Same Zoom and different positions.
    2X magnified image

    https://photos.app.goo.gl/6CmFQ2jZML2oJ1KA9



  13. #173
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5,422

    Re: Program Testers

    Thanks for the Screenshot - and BTW - RC 6.0.7 was just uploaded to my Server...

    Would be nice, if you could confirm whether everything works again "as before"...

    Olaf

  14. #174

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    Thanks, yes, now with 6.0.0.7
    As far as Fonts are concerned everything is ok.
    I have a (widget) custom simple button.
    Now, when the coordinates of the widget (widget.move) are not integer I'm experiencing problems in the button outline. For example it disappears in one of the 4 contour sides. (Top)
    Code:
                .RoundedRect 0, 0, dx, dy, mBorderRadius
                .Fill
                .SetLineWidth 1
                .SetSourceColor ...   
                .RoundedRect 0.5, 0.5, dx - 1, dy - 1, mBorderRadius           
                .Stroke
    Anyway by placing integer values on Widget.Move everything is fine.
    it's a very small problem, which I didn't even intend to report.

    PS : Seems to happen only at 100% Zoom


    EDIT:
    Maybe the problem is a bit more serious, because I notice that sometimes, changing Zoom, some buttons lose part of the bottom outline.
    This happens even when widget.move has integer values.

    [Widget.move is called only once at startup, then Zoom is changed and no more Widget.move calls.]

    EDIT 2:
    At the moment resolved this way:
    Code:
    .RoundedRect 0.5, 0.5, dx - 2, dy - 2, mBorderRadius
    .Stroke

  15. #175

    Thread Starter
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    576

    Re: Program Testers

    UPDATED

    DOWNLOADS

    - SoftPedia ZIP (may take some days to be updated)
    - ZIP


    Update 0.3.3403 (11-apr-2021)
    [Modules]
    - NEW: Dices: Fill with dices according to grayscale.
    - NEW: SandArt: Experimental SandArt effect. Very Slow! (WIP).
    - CannyEdge: New 'Thinning' option.
    - Quantize: Bugs fixes.
    - OTSU: added 6 levels option.
    - MAP3: added 'Global MinMax' option.
    [Other]
    - Basis for the effects implementation via DX-Shader.
    - vbRichClient: Newest Version 6.0.0.7 (RC6)

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width