Hybrid View

Multiple database records on multiple textboxes

Information:

Windows 8
    Visual Studio 2013
    Microsoft Acsess Database

---

Hello everyone!

I only started programming on vb.net 5 days ago, my work is to manipulate a Database using only Visual Studio ( deleting, adding, viewing and displaying records ), Its for a school project.

I did it very nicely my professor was impressed, but now he doesn't want me to display the records on a DataGrid, instead, he wants me to display the records on multiple textboxes and im completely lost on that!

I have a textbox where i type the ID of the person i want, then press a " Search" button and it shows on the data grid the information regarding that person ( name, security level etc )

I have to do the same but this time each piece of information goes into separate textboxes!

The name has to show up on its specific textbox, the security level as well, you get the point. I know how to do this in DataGrid but i have no idea how to send each row?? into it's own textbox.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Re: Multiple database records on multiple textboxes

If you've done it correctly, the code to accomplish the searching shouldn't change. If you're using a DataGridView, what should be happening is that you use a data adapter or table adapter to populate a DataTable, bind that to a BindingSource and then bind that to the grid. When you search, you then use the Find and Position members of the BindingSource to select the appropriate record. If you want to use TextBoxes instead of a DataGridView then the searching part is exactly the same and all that changes is the binding part. You can set up the binding in the designer if you're using a typed DataSet or you can do it in code. If you do it in code, binding to a grid would look like this:
    Code:
    myDataGridView.DataSource = myBindingSource
    while binding to TextBoxes would look like this:
    Code: