Thread: [RESOLVED] Help Needed with conversion to .Net

Resolved [RESOLVED] Help Needed with conversion to .Net

I wrote an mp3 player in VB6. I used to be a professional OS writer. No one has been successful with a conversion effort yet. The last time a vb6 image was successfully built was 2005. I do not remember what the version of Windows was. I do have the vb6 sources. Somehow mscomctl.ocx seems to be involved in the conversion errors.

It would mean much to me to convert the mp3 player to .Net. But when I went to install VB6 it never stopped running from disc 1 on the Windows 64 bit preview and I know the trick with java.

I need help with conversion which is both complex and straight forward. I've been a pedestrian hit by a car since then.

Renee
    Last edited by Renee Culver; Jan 16th, 2015 at 04:46 PM.

Sinecure devotee

Re: Help Needed with conversion to .Net

You are not likely to find anything that can convert the VB6 code to VB.Net to any great degree.
    The updates that tools usually do leave enough issues that it is about as much work trying to finish the port (and have worse code to work with), as it is to just port the code manually. You'll need to get familiar with the way .Net does things to best port the code.
    What are you using to play the mp3? (e.g. old Windows Media Player (msdxm.ocx), or newer Windows Media Player (wmp.dll), or MCI, or another mediaplayer API).

How sophisticated is the player you wrote? How hard would it be to reimplement the design?

"How hard would it be to reimplement the design?"

Appearance wise or code wise?

"You'll need to get familiar with the way .Net does things to best port the code."

Before my accident I was highly adept at .Net.

Renee
    Last edited by Renee Culver; Jan 16th, 2015 at 05:44 PM.

"What are you using to play the mp3? (e.g. old Windows Media Player (msdxm.ocx), or newer Windows Media Player (wmp.dll), or MCI, or another mediaplayer API)."