Thread: [RESOLVED] BitBlt on Hidden PictureBox

Resolved [RESOLVED] BitBlt on Hidden PictureBox

Hello everyone,

So today I have begun experimenting with BitBlt. What I am attempting to do is copy an image of a picturebox including all the images and other controls contained within it to a second picturebox. However, the picturebox I am copying from must be hidden, but it appears when I attempt to do this that the copy made will just be of whatever is visible in the position where the picturebox is. i.e. If I hide the picturebox or put it behind the second picturebox, it will not copy the contents of it. Sorry, I am still relatively new to all this. If anyone knows how to accomplish the task I have here, please let me know (even if it involves something other than BitBlt). I would rather not have to individually .paintpicture every image from the first picturebox to the second as some of them are transparent gifs so this would require some extra steps (I will do this as a last resort).

Thanks in advance!!
    Dill

Frenzied Member

Re: BitBlt on Hidden PictureBox

Try setting the AutoRedraw Property in the source PictureBox to True.

BitBlt doesn't handle transparency. Not sure your GIFs will work. PaintPicture doesn't handle GIF transparency either, but each picture object has a .Render function and it can deal with GIF/Icon transparency.

For more info, see this link in our codebank
    Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"

Classics Enthusiast? Here's my 1969 Mustang Mach I Fastback. Her sister '67 Coupe has been adopted

Newbie? Novice? Bored? Spend a few minutes browsing the FAQ section of the forum.
    Read the HitchHiker's Guide to Getting Help on the Forums.
    Here is the list of TAGs you can use to format your posts
    Here are VB6 Help Files online

{Alpha Image Control} {Memory Leak FAQ} {Unicode Open/Save Dialog} {Resource Image Viewer/Extractor}