Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    I have a VB6 EXE that is not working correctly in Windows 7. I have registered the DLL's that were needed, and have VB6 runtime.

    When i run the app, in VB6, it functions correctly, but when made an EXE it errors at the connection.

    The connection string is "DSN=DB1;UID=user;PWD=password;"

    it says ORA12545 error, something to do with the connection not existing.

    Why would this app function differently in VB6 than as an EXE. Our DSN's go through TNSNames.ora.

    Many thanks, this is sending me crazy

  2. #2
    PowerPoster abhijit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Chit Chat Forum.
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    Are you running the exe on the same computer as VB6?
    Everything that has a computer in will fail. Everything in your life, from a watch to a car to, you know, a radio, to an iPhone, it will fail if it has a computer in it. They should kill the people who made those things.- 'Woz'
    save a blobFileStreamDataTable To Text Filemy blog

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    HI,

    Yes, i am.

    Apologies, the post should be titled "not at EXE"

    Its really strange, could it be a conflicts of DNS' even though they are locked down, there could be a lingering one.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster abhijit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Chit Chat Forum.
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    From the command prompt are you able to locate your tnsping.exe? Use this to do a tnsping on the server. So we will know if the correct entries are located in tnsnames.ora

    Also do you have a single oracle home or multiple oracle homes in your registry?
    I believe the HOMES are located in \\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Oracle\
    Everything that has a computer in will fail. Everything in your life, from a watch to a car to, you know, a radio, to an iPhone, it will fail if it has a computer in it. They should kill the people who made those things.- 'Woz'
    save a blobFileStreamDataTable To Text Filemy blog

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    Thanks, i will try tomorrow (UK) and get back to you.

    Thanks.

    Nathan

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    Hi,

    I have deleted the Oracle 10 entries in the registry and still get the same error.

    I have created the connection in VBA also, using the DSN, and its fine.

  7. #7
    PowerPoster abhijit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Chit Chat Forum.
    Posts
    3,220

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    I suspect that there is some issue at the server end of things. Where is the database located? Is this an express edition of Oracle? Have you see this link?
    Everything that has a computer in will fail. Everything in your life, from a watch to a car to, you know, a radio, to an iPhone, it will fail if it has a computer in it. They should kill the people who made those things.- 'Woz'
    save a blobFileStreamDataTable To Text Filemy blog

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    HI

    Thanks.

    Its the full version, not sure what but, i work for a large FS company, if that helps. I have tried it on another machine, but with the same user profile and it works.

    I believe this to be an install issue somewhere, and some legacy registry entries being migrated also.

    I am recommending a new build, tonight to the same as the 2nd machine, i'll let you know tomorrow how i got on.

    Thanks

    Nathan

  9. #9
    PowerPoster Nightwalker83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    13,346

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    Quote Originally Posted by NathanSav View Post
    Apologies, the post should be titled "not at EXE"
    So the problem only occurs when executing the code via the VB6 IDE rather that the compiled exe? Where do you place the EXE when executing it?
    when you quote a post could you please do it via the "Reply With Quote" button or if it multiple post click the "''+" button then "Reply With Quote" button.
    If this thread is finished with please mark it "Resolved" by selecting "Mark thread resolved" from the "Thread tools" drop-down menu.
    https://get.cryptobrowser.site/30/4111672

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    First off, apologies for the confusion.

    The code runs and connects in VB6 IDE, but not when compiled to EXE.

    I've knocked the same code up in VBA, and the connection is fine. Cant see what is changing at EXE.

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    671

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    Is your IDE running "elevated"? Is your exe?

    If the two of them are running in different security contexts, then you have another possibility to look into.

    Regards, Phill W.

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Re: Oracle Issues, with VB6, but only at .EXE

    Do you mean as admin? If so, no to both.

    I've noticed that ExcelCtl Type Library, is pointing to a tmp file, Appdata\local\temp\VBF73C.tmp, could this be it??

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width