Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Saving text in textbox

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1

    Saving text in textbox

    In a Microsoft Store App how do I save text in a textbox so that it stays in the box after the app is closed and opened again? I know this can be done through Settings in a Windows Forms App, but there is no provision for Settings in Visual Basic 2013 for Store Apps.

  2. #2
    Addicted Member thetimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Plano, Texas
    Posts
    243

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    I haven't built any MS Store apps but can you just right out a txt file with key value pairs?

    I think this will get you writing txt files
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...-to-file-in-vb
    _____________
    Tim

    If anyone's answer has helped you, please show your appreciation by rating that answer.
    When you get a solution to your issue remember to mark the thread Resolved.


    reference links

  3. #3
    I'm about to be a PowerPoster! Joacim Andersson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    14,649

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    Thread moved to the Modern Windows Experience forum.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    when uyou want to save text i textbox you have to select a controls key with strings

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    10

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    If you do then you can just place it inbetween the textarea tags like this...

    <Textarea> Text here </Textarea>

    If you want to display something from a mysql database you can just echo it

    <Textarea>

    <?php echo $mytextstring; ?>

    </Textarea>

    ....with "$mytextstring" obviously being what you queried from the database.

  6. #6
    PowerPoster techgnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    32,840

    Re: Saving text in textbox

    Quote Originally Posted by sandeepv415 View Post
    If you do then you can just place it inbetween the textarea tags like this...

    <Textarea> Text here </Textarea>

    If you want to display something from a mysql database you can just echo it

    <Textarea>

    <?php echo $mytextstring; ?>

    </Textarea>

    ....with "$mytextstring" obviously being what you queried from the database.
    I didn't know you could run PHP code in a Windows Forms App, considering that PHP is a server side technology for web pages, that's quite the feat there.

    -tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width