Thread: [RESOLVED] MySQL Connector

Resolved [RESOLVED] MySQL Connector

We are seeing some real inconsistencies using MS Access over a LAN. I am hoping to use another DB platform like MySQL. I am totally new to using this platform on Windows so here goes another learning curve. I see that it probably takes the MySQL .NET Connector to run. This means downloading and installing this file not only on my machine, but on every users machine which will be using the interface. The IT guys here are going to have a heart attack when I tell them I need to deploy yet another 3rd party driver. And yes, these are the same IT guys who hate Microsoft and keep telling me to move away from anything to do with M$.

So am I seeing this correctly. I will have to download this ADO.NET driver for MySQL and install it on each and every machine which will be running the app(s) I develop for use with MySQL? Is there anything more efficient than can be recommended?
    Last edited by Vladamir; Apr 16th, 2013 at 02:03 PM.

Re: MySQL Connector

nothing

Secondly to be prompt
    M$ is like a ciggratte we have addicted to it because of it's simplicity
    even though much stable, secured linux is free ! , the reason is that the Complexity of Linux ?. nOT FOR A LAY MAN the M$ found this secret & survives till Linux over comes this secret.

vlad
    i admire it is a very wise decission to go ahead with MySQL.
    but go for asp.net ( i don'r prefer PHP SINCE it is a shape less language )
    The averted nuclear war
    My notes:

PrOtect your PC. MSDN Functions .OOP LINUX forum
    .LINQ LINQ videous
    If some one helps you please rate them with out fail , forum doesn't expects any thing other than this

Actually I'm a FreeBSD + PostgreSQL guy. Even though my experience with that is only slightly higher than Linux + MySQL. But this is the only db choice I have here besides MS Access. I think I can make it work but it's not going to be easy.