Thread: VS2010 Finding the mode of a set of user inputted integers

VS2010 Finding the mode of a set of user inputted integers

Hi again everyone!

So I am just starting to learn about arrays in Visual Basic. I have just learned how to populate in array with data and also display the data in a list box. Very basic stuff.

My next job is to find the mode of a set of user inputted data.
    For this I know I will like to use a parallel array, and I know I will have to sort through the integers entered in to the original array, possibly place each occurrence of an integer in the parallel array temporarily till we find
    another occurrence of that integer. We do this till we find the integer whos value shows up the most.

The only problems are
    1. I do not know how to populate an array with data that a user has inputted in to a textbox.

2. I have very limited tools at my disposal: array.length, array.GetUpperBound, array.sort, array.reverse, I know how to loop through, I just learned the "For Each" statement.

3. I program with: Option Explicit On
    Option Strict On
    Option Infer Off

Since I don't even know how to populate my array with data the user has entered I don't know if I can do anything else.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Re: VS2010 Finding the mode of a set of user inputted integers

btw the "Mode" is the number which appears most often in a set of numbers.

Example: in {6, 3, 9, 6, 6, 5, 9, 3} the Mode is 6 (it occurs most often).

this might help. i used a listbox, a textbox, + 3 buttons to calculate mean, median, + mode of a set of user entered numbers:

Code:
    Public Class Form1

Private Sub TextBox1_KeyDown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs) Handles TextBox1.KeyDown
            If e.KeyCode = Keys.Enter Then
                Dim value As Decimal
                If Decimal.TryParse(TextBox1.Text, value) Then
                    ListBox1.Items.Add(value.ToString)
                End If