Thread: VB Project - small desktop application. I am a beginner and need guidance throughout.

VB Project - small desktop application. I am a beginner and need guidance throughout.

VB Project

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in programming but have learned the basics over the past few weeks. I want to make a small desktop application for personal use in which I will be using a text-file database. I have been told this is as basic as it gets.

Overview

So the basic idea of this project is to create a digital version of my record collection (music vinyl). I aim to have a form in which I can essentially 'Add New Record' which has the following details:

- Title
    - Artist
    - Type
    - Year

Once the details have been uploaded and the image retrieved from My Documents, I will click 'Add New' and this will save the details in the database. I also want this 'Add New' button to store the image in a variety of different forms depending on what 'Type' was selected. For example:

There are 4 types:

- 12" LP/EP
    - 10" LP/EP
    - 7" Single
    - 12" Single

Each of the above will have its own section in the application where each record will be stored. In this section will be the image used when filling in the details in the 'Add New Record' page.

Then, I will be able to click on the picture of a record and will lead me to the final screen which shows me all the details of that particular record and the enlarged image.

The whole idea is to get all my record collection on, I have a lot of records and forget what I have. By having this application I will be able to see the front covers of each record and view the details of that record.

It would be a huge help if someone gave me guidance with this project. I don't think it is too challenging for someone who has experience with VB.

I already have the layout created on VB, just need help with the coding.

Thanks in advance for anyone who shows an interest.

Cheers!

Conor.