Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How do you use Code Tags?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member stepdragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    288

    How do you use Code Tags?

    I know this is the Forum Test Area, and I don't know if this post will last or be temporary, but I was testing to see if I could type to show someone how to use Code tags (for beginners).

    Anyways, I'm going to link to this thread in my Sig so if a newbie comes across one of my posts, they'll learn something (because honestly, not many people actually search for an read the bbcode format)

    [highlight=vb] dim content as string [/highlight]
    vb Code:
    1. dim content as string
    [highlight=vb.net] dim content as string [/highlight]
    vb.net Code:
    1. dim content as string
    [code] dim content as string [/code]
    Code:
     dim content as string
    Last edited by stepdragon; Oct 19th, 2011 at 07:45 PM.

    If you're wrong, you'll learn. If I'm wrong, I'll learn. Try something new and go from there. That's how we improve.

    CodeBank: VB.Net - Simple Proper Image Scaling in Correct Aspect Ratio - Star Rating Control
    Useful Links: HOW TO USE CODE TAGS

  2. #2
    PowerPoster Nightwalker83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    13,346

    Re: How do you use Code Tags?

    You don't actually need to put spaces in your tags like that in-order to show the tags, just wrap the tags in [noparse] tags and it will allow the tags to appear.
    when you quote a post could you please do it via the "Reply With Quote" button or if it multiple post click the "''+" button then "Reply With Quote" button.
    If this thread is finished with please mark it "Resolved" by selecting "Mark thread resolved" from the "Thread tools" drop-down menu.
    https://get.cryptobrowser.site/30/4111672

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member stepdragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    288

    Re: How do you use Code Tags?

    Nice! (see, everyone learns something new every day), Imma fix my first post. coz its still a reference

    If you're wrong, you'll learn. If I'm wrong, I'll learn. Try something new and go from there. That's how we improve.

    CodeBank: VB.Net - Simple Proper Image Scaling in Correct Aspect Ratio - Star Rating Control
    Useful Links: HOW TO USE CODE TAGS

  4. #4
    Freelancer akhileshbc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Trivandrum, Kerala, India
    Posts
    7,652

    Re: How do you use Code Tags?

    Testing [noparse] tag:

    [HIGHLIGHT="vb.net"]
    Dim a as string
    a = "Please wait while I test it !"
    [/HIGHLIGHT]


    Good to know

    vb.net Code:
    1. Dim a as string
    2. a = "Please wait while I test it !"

    Thanks Night

    If my post was helpful to you, then express your gratitude using Rate this Post.
    And if your problem is SOLVED, then please Mark the Thread as RESOLVED (see it in action - video)
    My system: AMD FX 6100, Gigabyte Motherboard, 8 GB Crossair Vengance, Cooler Master 450W Thunder PSU, 1.4 TB HDD, 18.5" TFT(Wide), Antec V1 Cabinet

    Social Group: VBForums - Developers from India


    Skills: PHP, MySQL, jQuery, VB.Net, Photoshop, CodeIgniter, Bootstrap,...

  5. #5
    I'm about to be a PowerPoster! Hack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Searching for mendhak
    Posts
    58,335

    Re: How do you use Code Tags?

    Or, you can do it without the NOPARSE tags

    [highlight=vb]your code goes in here[/highlight]

    [code]your code goes in here[/code]

    Admittedly I have no idea why you would want to do it this way, but, you can if you want.

  6. #6
    Freelancer akhileshbc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Trivandrum, Kerala, India
    Posts
    7,652

    Re: How do you use Code Tags?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hack View Post
    Admittedly I have no idea why you would want to do it this way
    Sometimes, it is necessary to show newbies, how to post their code in code/highlight tags.

    If my post was helpful to you, then express your gratitude using Rate this Post.
    And if your problem is SOLVED, then please Mark the Thread as RESOLVED (see it in action - video)
    My system: AMD FX 6100, Gigabyte Motherboard, 8 GB Crossair Vengance, Cooler Master 450W Thunder PSU, 1.4 TB HDD, 18.5" TFT(Wide), Antec V1 Cabinet

    Social Group: VBForums - Developers from India


    Skills: PHP, MySQL, jQuery, VB.Net, Photoshop, CodeIgniter, Bootstrap,...

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member stepdragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    288

    Re: How do you use Code Tags?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hack
    Or, you can do it without the NOPARSE tags

    [color=blue][b][[b][/b]highlight=vb][/b][/color][i]your code goes in here[/i][color=blue][b][/[b][/b]highlight][/b][/color]

    [b][c[b][/b]ode][/b]your code goes in here[b][/co[b][/b]de][/b]
    Seriously?

    Code:
    Sometimes you want to MAKE THINGS NOTICABLE
    in your code window.
    [code]Sometimes you want to [color=red][b]MAKE THINGS NOTICABLE[/b][/color]
    in your code window.[/code]

    If you're wrong, you'll learn. If I'm wrong, I'll learn. Try something new and go from there. That's how we improve.

    CodeBank: VB.Net - Simple Proper Image Scaling in Correct Aspect Ratio - Star Rating Control
    Useful Links: HOW TO USE CODE TAGS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width