Thread: Client/Server

Client/Server

Hello fellow coders,
    I have been a web developer for a number of years now and I am making the move over to form based applications. I am trying to do what I believe should be relatively simple, yet I have no idea where to start.

At home I have a machine that family members tend to use P2P programs, which causes my online gaming to suffer with glitches.

I want to create a server and client program.
    where the client app (on my laptop) consists of only one button, when the button is pressed I want the server app (my Desktop) to kill the P2P program.

I already know how to kill/start the application in question.

I have previously done something similar but I had used winsock (not in VS2010) and was a long time ago.

So if possible I require help with the following.

1) Sending a value/string from the client app
    2) receiving the value/string on the server app

I was told to look into the system.net.sockets namespace, but I haven't found anything on the web or here that isn't a full project / over-engineered "Basic Tutorial" that helps to break this down

Any help is appreciated.

Re: Client/Server

First off, I'm thoroughly amused by your description of the problem. It sounds like you want to kick off your family members when they get in the way of your gaming. That's a classic.