Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Hello Everybody,

    I have an ASP.NET 1.1 app running fine on my local system and Win 2003 server. I transferred this site to a Win 2008 R2 server. The site is running under an app pool configured to run under ASP.NET v2.0. Some of the pages of the site throw exceptions and there are other problems in running the site as well however the same works good on Win 2003 Server. When I try to run the site under app pool for ASP.NET 1.1, it says "500 - Internal server error. There is a problem with the resource you are looking for, and it cannot be displayed."

    Would you please let me know how to configure the site to run under ASP.NET 1.1?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Learning .Net danasegarane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    VBForums
    Posts
    5,853

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Did you check the 1.1 Web Service Extension are enabled in IIS ?
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Please mark you thread resolved using the Thread Tools as shown

  3. #3
    ASP.NET Moderator gep13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Granite City
    Posts
    21,963

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Is .Net Framework 1.1 installed?

    Gary

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    .NET Framework 1.1 SP1 is installed and allowed.

    One thing I just noticed, I have another very small application that was developed with ASP.NET 1.1 but was running under v2.0. When I selected ASP.NET 1.1 as its app pool it didn't stop rather its working fine. It means ASP.NET 1.1 is working properly.

    Any other workaround?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    ASP.NET Moderator gep13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Granite City
    Posts
    21,963

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Hello,

    Do you have separate application pools for each .Net Framework. I typically do this, as I have seen it cause problems in the past.

    Create one for 1.1, and one for 2.0. Put the necessary applications in each application pool, and check that the ASP.Net Configuration Setting has been made for each application, and that an actual "application" has been created for each web site/virtual directory that you need.

    Gary

  6. #6
    Learning .Net danasegarane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    VBForums
    Posts
    5,853

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Have a try this one
    Please mark you thread resolved using the Thread Tools as shown

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Quote Originally Posted by gep13 View Post
    Hello,

    Do you have separate application pools for each .Net Framework. I typically do this, as I have seen it cause problems in the past.

    Create one for 1.1, and one for 2.0. Put the necessary applications in each application pool, and check that the ASP.Net Configuration Setting has been made for each application, and that an actual "application" has been created for each web site/virtual directory that you need.

    Gary
    Yes, indeed I have a separate application pool for each application. There is an app pool called ASP.NET 1.1 created by .NET framework 1.1 and another app pool that I created that uses v2.0. If I set my application to use the app pool that runs under v2.0, it works. If I change the app pool and set the application to work under ASP.NET 1.1, it doesn't work.

    Thanks.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Quote Originally Posted by danasegarane View Post
    Have a try this one
    Hello danasegarane,

    I think this article won't go for me since I have IIS 7.0, ASP.NET 1.1 dynamic pages that work under v2.0 but not under 1.1.

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    ASP.NET Moderator gep13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Granite City
    Posts
    21,963

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Hmm, this sounds very strange...

    An ASP.net 1.1 Application that works when the App Pool is configured for 2.0, but not for 1.1.

    Obvious question first...

    Are you sure that this application is targetting 1.1, and not 2.0?

    Gary

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Yes, I myself developed this application from 0 to 100% with VS 2003. I use to run it on my local system with VS 2003 and on the previous server it was running under ASP.NET 1.1. Here's the page directive of one of the pages.

    Code:
    <%@ Page language="c#" Codebehind="AddCustomer.aspx.cs" AutoEventWireup="false" Inherits="PCSNSurveyApplication.AddCustomer" %>
    Let me show you images to make sure I have selected the correct app pool.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  11. #11
    ASP.NET Moderator gep13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Granite City
    Posts
    21,963

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    So, just to confirm...

    If you change the premiersurvery application pool to target .Net 1.1, the site no longer works.

    What about is you change the premiersurvery website to use the ASP.NET 1.1 application pool.

    Gary

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    When I change the application's Application Pool to ASP.NET 1.1, the website doesn't come up at all.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  13. #13

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member usamaalam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    As I mentioned earlier, I have another website that works when I set its application pool to ASP.NET 1.1. You can run the site with the this url http://attend.pcsn.net/.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  14. #14
    ASP.NET Moderator gep13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Granite City
    Posts
    21,963

    Re: Running ASP.NET 1.1 app on Win 2008 R2

    Are there any errors in the Event Viewer that could give a hint as to what is going on?

    Gary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width