Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [RESOLVED] Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member Zakary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada, Quebec, Montreal
    Posts
    1,654

    Resolved [RESOLVED] Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

    Hi!

    I'm facing a problem with one of my Crystal report.
    When I open it at run time, crystal report ask me for a login.
    But the datasource of the report is a DataSet. There no SQL database here.

    I have google it, but the only thing that I have found, is this problem is related to Field mapping miss match, but I've refresh a datasource within the report, but without succes.

    Any help would be great.

    Hugo

    PS
    Im using VS2005, with the buildin Crystal Report
    Last edited by Zakary; Aug 25th, 2009 at 10:00 AM. Reason: Adding version
    Using VS 2010 on Fw4.0

  2. #2

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member Zakary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada, Quebec, Montreal
    Posts
    1,654

    Re: Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

    Arh ... Forget about this ...

    The report that is was using was not the one that I expected . ...

    The refresh of the datasource resolve my problem ...
    Using VS 2010 on Fw4.0

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: [RESOLVED] Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

    what do you mean by "refresh of the datasource"? you mean in code or just run the report again?

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member Zakary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada, Quebec, Montreal
    Posts
    1,654

    Re: [RESOLVED] Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

    Sometime life bring strange coincidence ...
    As my Outlook popup a Email from your reply, I was facing this problem again in another report

    In my case I'm expecting that the DataSet fields are not matching the Report Fields.

    Also the Login problem may occur for many different reason.

    In a context where the report is directly connected to SQL Server, I've once got this problem and finally found that if I change the connection from Subreport in the reverse order instead of natural order, fix the problem ...

    Another context where this error occur is when I've use the "SQL Native client" as Data Provider for the DB connection, I've change it to "Microsoft SQL OLE DB Provider fro SQL Server", and fixed it.

    Give me a couple of minute and I'll be back with a more detailed solution from my case, maybe it could fit your!

    Hugo
    Using VS 2010 on Fw4.0

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member Zakary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada, Quebec, Montreal
    Posts
    1,654

    Re: [RESOLVED] Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

    Ok, In my case, the Fields in the DataSet used as the DataSource was not exactly as the Report expect it.
    To fix it, I saved the Source DataSet to a XML file with the Schema, and in the faulty Crystal Report, I've refresh the Datasource with the "Set database Location".

    Clic "Set Database Location"
    then "Create a new connection" of ADO.NET type
    locate the previously saved XML file,
    then clic "Update" and ... you should be done!
    Using VS 2010 on Fw4.0

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Frenzied Member Zakary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Canada, Quebec, Montreal
    Posts
    1,654

    Re: [RESOLVED] Crystal Report Ask For Login using DataSet as DataSource

    For the records ...

    In the case where your have your report bind to a XML file for the design and a DataSet at RunTime, be sure that all field datatype is EXACTLY the same, or you may like me lose .. 3-4 hours searching ...

    Oh Dear Crystal ...
    Using VS 2010 on Fw4.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width