Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [RESOLVED] VB6 - Runtime error 13: Type Mismatch

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    341

    Resolved [RESOLVED] VB6 - Runtime error 13: Type Mismatch

    Gentlemen,
    I have one annoying error and I have looked and looked and can't find the mismatch.

    The code below gave the above error:
    Code:
    Set rsin = Dbs.OpenRecordset("SELECT tblUnclaimed.PassNumber, tblUnclaimed.EmployeeName, EmployeeInfo.Address, EmployeeInfo.City, EmployeeInfo.State, EmployeeInfo.ZIP, EmployeeInfo.L3, EmployeeInfo.L5, tblUnclaimed.Original_Check_Date, tblUnclaimed.Amount_of_Check, EmployeeInfo.Status " _
    & "FROM EmployeeInfo RIGHT JOIN tblUnclaimed ON (EmployeeInfo.L1 = tblUnclaimed.L1) AND (EmployeeInfo.Pass_Number = tblUnclaimed.PassNumber) " _
    & "WHERE (((EmployeeInfo.Status) Like 'N*') AND ((EmployeeInfo.Union_Code) In ('00','01','32','33')) AND ((tblUnclaimed.Status) In ('A','E','U'))) OR (((EmployeeInfo.Union_Code) In ('00','01','32','33')) AND ((tblUnclaimed.Status) In ('A','E','U')) AND ((Len([EmployeeInfo].[Status]))=1)) " _
    & "ORDER BY EmployeeInfo.L3, EmployeeInfo.L5, tblUnclaimed.PassNumber, tblUnclaimed.Original_Check_Date;")
    This is my entire module so far:
    Code:
    Private Sub cmdExecproc_Click()
    Dim rsin As Recordset
    Dim xlApp As New Excel.Application
    Dim xlWbk As Workbook
    Dim xlWksht1 As Worksheet
    Dim xlWkSht2 As Worksheet
    Dim xlWkSht3 As Worksheet
    Dim xlWkSht4 As Worksheet
    Dim Dbs As Database
    Dim DbPath As String
    Dim DbName As String
    Dim StrSQL  As String
    Dim Qdef As QueryDefs
    
    DbPath = "\\Livctrls03-08\Data1\APP\UNCLAIMW\UCCTest\Databases\"
    DbName = "Unclaimed Checks.mdb"
    
    'Open Database/Recordset:
    '------------------------
    Set Dbs = OpenDatabase(DbPath & DbName)
    
    Set rsin = Dbs.OpenRecordset("SELECT tblUnclaimed.PassNumber, tblUnclaimed.EmployeeName, EmployeeInfo.Address, EmployeeInfo.City, EmployeeInfo.State, EmployeeInfo.ZIP, EmployeeInfo.L3, EmployeeInfo.L5, tblUnclaimed.Original_Check_Date, tblUnclaimed.Amount_of_Check, EmployeeInfo.Status " _
    & "FROM EmployeeInfo RIGHT JOIN tblUnclaimed ON (EmployeeInfo.L1 = tblUnclaimed.L1) AND (EmployeeInfo.Pass_Number = tblUnclaimed.PassNumber) " _
    & "WHERE (((EmployeeInfo.Status) Like 'N*') AND ((EmployeeInfo.Union_Code) In ('00','01','32','33')) AND ((tblUnclaimed.Status) In ('A','E','U'))) OR (((EmployeeInfo.Union_Code) In ('00','01','32','33')) AND ((tblUnclaimed.Status) In ('A','E','U')) AND ((Len([EmployeeInfo].[Status]))=1)) " _
    & "ORDER BY EmployeeInfo.L3, EmployeeInfo.L5, tblUnclaimed.PassNumber, tblUnclaimed.Original_Check_Date;")
    Any help will be appreciated.

    Giftx.

  2. #2
    VB-aholic & Lovin' It LaVolpe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beside Waldo
    Posts
    19,541

    Re: VB6 - Runtime error 13: Type Mismatch

    I don't see it right off either. I would guess it isn't your sql statement itself. If it was, I would expect an db-generated syntax error or something else.

    1. Does the database open? Do you get an error on the Set Dbs line?

    2. If not, what references do you have in your project. Do you have more than one DAO reference, do you also have ADO references? If so, remove the ones you are not using.
    Insomnia is just a byproduct of, "It can't be done"

    Classics Enthusiast? Here's my 1969 Mustang Mach I Fastback. Her sister '67 Coupe has been adopted

    Newbie? Novice? Bored? Spend a few minutes browsing the FAQ section of the forum.
    Read the HitchHiker's Guide to Getting Help on the Forums.
    Here is the list of TAGs you can use to format your posts
    Here are VB6 Help Files online


    {Alpha Image Control} {Memory Leak FAQ} {Unicode Open/Save Dialog} {Resource Image Viewer/Extractor}
    {VB and DPI Tutorial} {Manifest Creator} {UserControl Button Template} {stdPicture Render Usage}

  3. #3
    VB Addict Pradeep1210's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside the CPU...
    Posts
    6,614

    Re: VB6 - Runtime error 13: Type Mismatch

    Which line of code is causing that error?
    Pradeep, Microsoft MVP (Visual Basic)
    Please appreciate posts that have helped you by clicking icon on the left of the post.
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." — Charles F. Kettering

    Read articles on My Blog101 LINQ SamplesJSON ValidatorXML Schema Validator"How Do I" videos on MSDNVB.NET and C# ComparisonGood Coding PracticesVBForums Reputation SaverString EnumSuper Simple Tetris Game


    (2010-2013)
    NB: I do not answer coding questions via PM. If you want my help, then make a post and PM me it's link. If I can help, trust me I will...

  4. #4
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    118

    Re: VB6 - Runtime error 13: Type Mismatch

    Quote Originally Posted by Pradeep1210
    Which line of code is causing that error?
    Read the first part of his thread post



    The code below gave the above error:

    Code:
    Set rsin = Dbs.OpenRecordset("SELECT tblUnclaimed.PassNumber, tblUnclaimed.EmployeeName, EmployeeInfo.Address, EmployeeInfo.City, EmployeeInfo.State, EmployeeInfo.ZIP, EmployeeInfo.L3, EmployeeInfo.L5, tblUnclaimed.Original_Check_Date, tblUnclaimed.Amount_of_Check, EmployeeInfo.Status " _ & "FROM EmployeeInfo RIGHT JOIN tblUnclaimed ON (EmployeeInfo.L1 = tblUnclaimed.L1) AND (EmployeeInfo.Pass_Number = tblUnclaimed.PassNumber) " _ & "WHERE (((EmployeeInfo.Status) Like 'N*') AND ((EmployeeInfo.Union_Code) In ('00','01','32','33')) AND ((tblUnclaimed.Status) In ('A','E','U'))) OR (((EmployeeInfo.Union_Code) In ('00','01','32','33')) AND ((tblUnclaimed.Status) In ('A','E','U')) AND ((Len([EmployeeInfo].[Status]))=1)) " _ & "ORDER BY EmployeeInfo.L3, EmployeeInfo.L5, tblUnclaimed.PassNumber, tblUnclaimed.Original_Check_Date;")

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    341

    Re: VB6 - Runtime error 13: Type Mismatch

    LaVolpe,
    thank you for your geniune observation and input. Yes, I was using both DAO and ADO and it didn't like it. I removed the ADO and it worked.

    Thanks again.

    Giftx.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width