Thread: [RESOLVED] run time error 91: activeworkbook.name

Resolved [RESOLVED] run time error 91: activeworkbook.name

Hello -

I'm opening a workbook and getting a runtime error 91 which debugs to the following line:

Code:
    LeCurFname = ActiveWorkbook.name
    I have been using this workbook for years and saving it as different files but this is the first time this error has happened. The debugged line is part of this sub:

Code:
    Sub initializevars()
      LeWrkFname = ActiveWorkbook.name
      LeCurCode = Sheets("Global Assumptions").Cells(6, 5)
      LeCurDescription = Sheets("Global Assumptions").Cells(6, 6)
      Application.Caption = AppTitle
      Call FixPath  
    End Sub
    I'm a relative newbie in terms of VBA but any help that can be offered is appreciated!!

Matt

Re: run time error 91: activeworkbook.name

Thread moved to Office Development/VBA forum (note that the "VB Editor" in Office programs is actually VBA rather than VB)

Also, we've recently switched our office from 2003 to 2007 so it may be a compatibility issue? This is the first time I've had this issue in this line of code.

Matt

I dunno about 2007, might be a problem. The 91 is usually that you are trying to reference an object but that object is not set. ie, your activeworkbook is nothing so you cannot access the name.

May be in 2007 you need to do something first to set ActiveWorkbook?

Have you tried the help with it?
    (type activeworkbook, put your cursor on it, f1 - might mention if it is set or not...)

BOFH Now, BOFH Past, Information on duplicates

Feeling like a fly on the inside of a closed window (Thunk!)
    If I post a lot, it is because I am bored at work! ;D Or stuck...
    * Anything I post can be only my opinion. Advice etc is up to you to persue...

Both the ActiveWorkbook method and the associated Name property does exist within Excel 2007
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb220820.aspx